Baby Boks retain starting XV

2013-06-08 14:11
Dawie Theron (File)
Cape Town - South Africa Under-20 coach Dawie Theron has kept his starting XV unchanged for the IRB Junior World Championship Pool A match against England on Sunday.

There is however one change on the bench, with lock Jannes Kirsten replacing Kwagga Smit.

The Junior Springboks’ second pool match will kick off at 16:45 in the Stade Henri Desgrange in La Roche-sur-Yon.

South Africa’s runway 97-0 victory over the United States on Wednesday has placed them top of Pool A with five points. The three pool winners and the best placed pools runner-up will advance through to the semi-finals.

Theron, who led the Junior Springboks to their first JWC title in 2012, explained that the coaching staff resisted the temptation to change the starting XV because they wanted to maintain the continuity.

According to Theron England is a strong, physical side and his team will have to front up for the full 80 minutes.

“Their core skills are very good and we will play against a very well-prepared team. They have good structures in place, many of the players came through the Premiership academies and they play on a regular basis together as a team,” said Theron.

The Junior Springboks coach added the approach of his team will be to build on their momentum from the first game.

“We will have to be disciplined and play with the same energy as the team showed against the United States.”


South Africa

15. Cheslin Kolbe (Western Province), 14. Luther Obi (Leopards), 13. Justin Geduld (SARU contracted), 12. Handré Pollard (Blue Bulls), 11. Seabelo Senatla (SARU contracted), 10. Robert du Preez (Sharks), 9. Stefan Ungerer (Sharks), 8. Ruan Steenkamp (Blue Bulls, captain), 7. Jacques du Plessis (Blue Bulls), 6. Roelof Smit (Blue Bulls), 5. Dennis Visser (Blue Bulls), 4. Irné Herbst (Blue Bulls), 3. Luan de Bruin (Free State Cheetahs), 2. Jacques du Toit (Free State Cheetahs), 1. Andrew Beerwinkel (Blue Bulls)

Substitutes: 16. Michael Willemse (Western Province), 17. Sti Sithole (Western Province), 18. Jannes Kirsten (Blue Bulls), 19. Aidon Davis (EP Kings), 20. Hanco Venter (Sharks), 21. Dries Swanepoel (Blue Bulls), 22. Jesse Kriel (Blue Bulls), 23. Marné Coetzee (Sharks)



SA Under-20 Pool A fixtures:

June 5 - SA 97-0 USA
June 9 - SA v England - 16:45
June 13 - SA v France - 20:45

Read more on:    baby boks  |  dawie theron  |  rugby

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Springbok coach Allister Coetzee remains defiant, saying he won't resign despite a shambolic two years at the helm. Your thoughts?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.