Baby Boks name team for Pumas

2015-05-11 15:41
Dawie Theron (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - Junior Springbok coach Dawie Theron has confirmed his starting line-up for the first of two matches against the Argentina Under-20 team in Santa Fe, to be played on Tuesday.

The clash at the Universitario Rugby Club will kick off at 19:30 SA time and the two countries will meet for a second time on Saturday in Rosario. Both sides are using the two-match series as final preparations for the World Rugby Under-20 Championship taking place in Italy next month.

Western Province loose forward Rikus Bothma will captain the Baby Boks team who are starting to get a familiar look after two training outings against the Western Province Rugby Institute and an earlier run out against the Varsity Cup Dream Team.

Theron opted to rest Hanro Liebenberg (No 8, Blue Bulls) and Dan du Preez (flank, Sharks), who are both nursing minor niggles.

The Junior Boks coach said he expects a typical, uncompromising encounter from the Los Pumitas.

“Argentina thrive on strong forward play and they also have a great kicking game. They are playing at home in front of their passionate fans so we will have to be switched on from the start,” explains Theron.

According to the coach he will give every squad member a taste of action in the two tour matches: “Every player will get a chance to play, including Hanro and Dan who we are resting for this match as precaution. We know from previous Under-20 Championship campaigns that your full squad of 28 players must be involved, and that is something we will simulate on this tour.

“I am very pleased with our training session of yesterday and now we must start on a good, high tempo against a tough opponent,” said Theron.

The Baby Boks team to play against the Los Pumitas on Tuesday in Santa Fe:

15. Malcolm Jaer (EP Kings), 14. Grant Hermanus (Western Province), 13. JT Jackson (Blue Bulls), 12. Daniel du Plessis (Western Province), 11. Leolin Zas (Western Province), 10. Ernst Stapelberg (Western Province), 9. Marco Janse van Vuuren (Golden Lions), 8. Jean-Luc du Preez (Sharks), 7. Jacques Vermeulen (Western Province), 6. Rikus Bothma (captain, Western Province), 5. Jason Jenkins (Blue Bulls), 4. Abongile Nonkontwana (Blue Bulls), 3. Thomas du Toit (Sharks), 2. Joseph Dweba (Free State Cheetahs), 1. Ox Nche (Free State Cheetahs),

Substitutes: 16. Mzamo Majola (Sharks), 17. Jan van der Merwe (Blue Bulls), 18. Frans van Wyk (Western Province), 19. Hyron Andrews (Sharks), 20. CJ Velleman (EP Kings), 21. Ivan van Zyl (Blue Bulls), 22. Brandon Thomson (Western Province), 23. Warrick Gelant (Blue Bulls),

Read more on:    baby boks  |  dawie theron  |  rugby

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Springbok coach Allister Coetzee remains defiant, saying he won't resign despite a shambolic two years at the helm. Your thoughts?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.