Baby Bok fightback stuns Kiwis

2013-06-23 17:06
Handré Pollard (Gallo Images)
Cape Town - The Junior Springboks produced a superb comeback from trailing 21-0 after 30 minutes to beat New Zealand 41-34 (half-time 21-26) and claim a third place finish at the IRB Junior World Championships in Vannes, France, on Sunday.

The Baby Boks scored three tries in the space of seven minutes in the first half to throw the game back into the melting pot and then took control in the final half hour to close out a memorable victory of character and skill.

New Zealand had raced into a 21-0 lead in as many minutes through tries by left wing Lolagi Visinia (2) and No 8 Joe Edwards.

South Africa looked down and out but fought back remarkably, although they had to wait until the 31st minute for their first score. Right wing Luther Obi stepped between two defenders from ten metres out after good forward drives to restore South African hopes.

The forwards then repeated the dose from a five-metre penalty with tighthead Luan de Bruin profiting this time before Seabelo Senatla intercepted in the New Zealand backline to level the scores (21-21) and complete the three-try burst.

New Zealand fullback Joe Webber scored in the corner with the final move of the first half and a Simon Hickey penalty re-opened the lead to eight points (29-21) six minutes into the second half to once again put the Baby Boks under pressure.

But they responded superbly.

They warmed to their task and, following the sin-binning of flank Jordan Manihera for the killing the ball at the latest of a succession of South African attacks, they began to take an unshakeable hold.

Captain Ruan Steenkamp and replacement flank Kwagga Smith scored tries in the 53rd and 56th minutes to put South Africa into the lead for the first time. Handré Pollard added a penalty to give the Junior Boks a 36-29 lead.

New Zealand added to their own problems when they were reduced to 13 men when replacement prop Kalafi Pongi was sin-binned for taking out a man in the air.

However, they were back to 14 when impressive South African scrumhalf Stefan Ungerer collected a pass from Steenkamp at the base of a five-metre scrum to cross in the corner for the decisive score in the 71st minute.

Pollard was unable to convert but South Africa led by 12 points (41-29) and, although Manihera scored a try with three minutes remaining, the South Africans maturely controlled the game to the final whistle.

England won the tournament when they beat Wales 23-15 in the final later in the day.


South Africa:

Tries: Luther Obi, Luan de Bruin, Seabelo Senatla, Ruan Steenkamp, Kwagga Smith, Stefan Ungerer.

Conversions: Handré Pollard (4).

Penalty: Pollard.

New Zealand:

Tries: Lolagi Visinia (2), Joe Edwards, Joe Webber, Jordan Manihera.

Conversions: Simon Hickey (3).

Penalty: Hickey.

Junior Springbok team:

15. Cheslin Kolbe (Western Province), 14. Luther Obi (Leopards), 13. Jesse Kriel (Blue Bulls), 12. Rohan Janse van Rensburg (Blue Bulls), 11. Seabelo Senatla (SARU contracted), 10. Handré Pollard (Blue Bulls), 9. Stefan Ungerer (Sharks), 8. Aidon Davis (EP Kings), 7. Jacques du Plessis (Blue Bulls), 6. Ruan Steenkamp (Blue Bulls, captain), 5. Dennis Visser (Blue Bulls), 4. Irné Herbst (Blue Bulls), 3. Luan de Bruin (Free State Cheetahs), 2. Michael Willemse (Western Province), 1. Sti Sithole (Western Province)

Substitutes: 16. Jacques du Toit  (Free State Cheetahs), 17. Andrew Beerwinkel (Blue Bulls), 18. Jannie Stander (Golden Lions), 19. Kwagga Smith (Golden Lions), 20. Percy Williams (Golden Lions), 21. Robert du Preez (Sharks), 22. Dries Swanepoel (Blue Bulls), 23. Marné Coetzee (Sharks)


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Springbok coach Allister Coetzee remains defiant, saying he won't resign despite a shambolic two years at the helm. Your thoughts?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.