5 SA players start for BaaBaas

2015-05-26 17:00
Ruan Pienaar (Getty Images)

Cape Town - Shane Jennings will captain the Barbarians against Ireland at Thomond Park on Thursday.

The Leinster and Ireland flank is set to retire from the professional game after a distinguished career in which he has won 13 caps for Ireland, Pro-12 and European Cup titles for Leinster and a Premiership title with Leicester Tigers.

He captains a starting side containing nine different nationalities with 466 international appearances between them for the game in Limerick on May 28.

Five South Africans - Zane Kirchener, Wynand Olivier, Ruan Pienaar, Gerhard Vosloo and Deon Fourie - are in the starting team, while Gio Aplon features on the bench.

 “It’s an honour to lead out such an illustrious team. It’s a great highlight in my career and we’ll be determined to do the Barbarians' jersey justice against Ireland,” said Jennings.

Head coach Robbie Deans has assembled a side with a sharp cutting edge containing the likes of Toulon’s leading try-scorer David Smith, New Zealand’s Joe Rokocoko and British & Irish Lions wing Alex Cuthbert in the backline.

Lions tighthead prop Adam Jones anchors a scrum containing a powerful second row combination in Uruguay’s Rodrigo Capo Ortega and Georgia’s Konstantin Mikautadze. Japan’s Ryu Koliniasi Holani is a dynamic No 8 from Deans’s club side Panasonic Wild Knights.

Barbarians XV:

15 Zane Kirchner (Leinster & South Africa), 14 Alex Cuthbert (Cardiff Blues & Wales), 13 Joe Rokocoko (Bayonne & New Zealand), 12 Wynand Olivier (Montpellier & South Africa), 11 David Smith (Toulon), 10 James Gopperth (Leinster), 9 Ruan Pienaar (Ulster & South Africa), 8 Ryu Koliniasi Holani (Panasonic Wild Knights & Japan), 7 Gerhard Vosloo (Toulon), 6 Shane Jennings (Leinster & Ireland, captain), 5 Konstantin Mikautadze (Toulon & Georgia), 4 Rodrigo Capo Ortega (Castres & Uruguay), 3 Adam Jones (Cardiff Blues & Wales), 2 Deon Fourie (Lyon), 1 Roberto Tejerizo (Tucuman & Argentina)

Substitutes: 16 David Ward (Harlequins), 17 Saimone Taumoepeau (Castres & New Zealand), 18 Matias Diaz (Pampas & Argentina), 19 George Whitelock (Panasonic Wild Knights & New Zealand), 20 George Smith (Lyon & Australia), 21 Tomas Cubelli (Belgrano Ath & Argentina), 22 Tusi Pisi (Suntory Sungoliath & Samoa), 23 Gio Aplon (Grenoble & South Africa)


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Did the Springboks' performance against the All Blacks in Wellington change your belief in who will win the Rugby World Cup?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.