Water Sport

Steyn, Maree celebrate SA surfing titles

2018-08-15 12:27
Jordy Maree
Jordy Maree (Photo Credit: Ian Thurtell)

Cape Town - The SA Surfing championships was a great success as Zoe Steyn and Jordy Maree were crowned national women's and men's champions respectively.

The thrilling six-day tournament was hosted by the Buffalo City Metropolitan Municipality at Nahoon Reef, East London.

According to Team SA website, over 150 surfers from eight districts competed in the Championships.

Local girl Steyn became the youngest female surfer in the 53-year history of the SA Surfing Championships to win the open women's division title when she dominated the final Nahoon Reef last year.

She was also named Surfer of the Contest and awarded the trophy by last year's award winner and this year's open women's division title runner-up, Heather Clark.

The 14-year-old was selected to represent South Africa at the ISA World Surfing Games which take place in Japan this September. She's also set to represent the country at the ISA World Junior Championships in California at the end of October later this year.

Steyn's fellow SA junior team member, Tayla de Coning who came third while 2017 SA Champion Olivia Brand of eThekweni, was fourth.

Talented Maree, a late replacement in the Cape Town Surfriders team, celebrated his birthday in style by winning the South African Men's Open Championship, when he posted a 17 out of 20 heat score to edge Chad du Toit of eThekweni Surfriders, into second place.

Maree joins the long list of surfers who have used a backhand attack to secure victory at Nahoon Reef.

Last year's champion, Brandon Benjamin also used his backhand to become the 2017 champion.

Tyrell Johnson came third in the final with his young Buffalo City team-mate Thomas Lindhorst, taking fourth.

In the over 35 men's division, Cape Town Surfrider's team captain Neil Zietsman won his first ever national title when he beat Alan Johns into second place. Johnson incurred a technical penalty which dropped him into third place ahead of his brother, Orrin.

The over 30 SA women's title was won by Clark for the second time in a row and for her consistent performances in this division and the open women's group, she was awarded the Dave Fish Trophy by last year's winner Greg Emslie.

Tasha Mentasti of Eden Surfriders was second, Michelle van Kempen third and Cape Town's Nicki Seligmann fourth.

Defending champion Greg Emsile successfully won the over 40 title, narrowly beating Gary van Wieringen by one point.

Emslie’s Buffalo City team-mate, Tristan Johnson, came third while Warwick Heny was fourth.

Wayne Monk defended his title by the skin of his teeth as he edged Ryan Ribbink into the silver medal slot just seconds before the siren.

Warren Dixon, came third and the copper medal went to Buffalo city's Johnson.

It was a victory for Gareth Sepp in the over 50 division final over defending champion David Malherbe and his brother, Andre, who was third. As Sean Jerram had to settle for fourth place behind the three Buffalo City surfers.

Local Nick Pike took more gold when he won the over 55 title ahead of Stephen Hair of Eden. Pike's team-mate Toby Mare won the bronze medal and Volker Mielck won copper.

In the over 60 final, Cape Town surfriders Jeremy Zinn, pulled out all the stops to beat defending champion Gordon Harmer. Kelly Kellerman was third and Andre Venter came fourth.

All the winners won the coveted Surfing South Africa floating trophies, gold medals and R1 000 in cash.

Buffalo City won the Masters Cup for the 13th year in a row, beating Cape Town Surfriders into second spot.

The East London team also retained the Presidents Cup for the highest scores in the open divisions.

The Champions Cup, which was presented to the team with the highest combined points total, went to the Buffalo City Team. eThekweni came second, Cape Town were third and followed by Nelson Mandela Bay, Ugu, Ilembe Eden and Cape Winelands.

Read full story on Team SA website

Read more on:    surfing


Read News24’s Comments Policy


Which is your favourite water-related sport?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.