Water Sport

Schoenmaker the big winner at SA Sports Awards

2019-11-11 12:20
Tatjana Schoenmaker (Getty Images)

Cape Town - Swimming sensation Tatjana Schoenmaker scooped the highest honour at the SA Sports Awards in Durban on Sunday when she was crowned Sports Star of the Year.

The 22-year-old breaststroke star also picked up the Sportswoman of the Year award.

Schoenmaker had a breakthrough performance at the 2018 Commonwealth Games where she claimed two gold medals.

Earlier this year Schoenmaker became the first South African female swimmer to win a medal at a FINA World Championships when she took silver in the 200m breaststroke in Gwangju.

According to SABC's website, the 22-year-old Schoenmaker couldn't collect her award in person as she is writing her final exams at the University of Pretoria.

Following her win, Schoenmaker took to Twitter to thank the public for her win.

"Oh my... Did that just happen?!? Thank you, thank you! ... So incredibly honoured to be named  #SportsWomanOfTheYear and #SportsStarOfTheYear @SASportAwards. Thank you South Africa and the judges for believing in me!," she wrote.

Other big winners included Springbok Rugby World Cup winning-captain Siya Kolisi, who won the People's Choice Award.

Kolisi is in the midst of a nationwide tour with the team after they defeated England 32-12 in the final in Yokohama to lift their third Webb Ellis Cup.

READ | What have the Springboks done with the Webb Ellis Cup's lid?

SA boxer Ntando Mahlangu beat out Olympic swimmer Chad le Clos and canoeist Andrew Birkett to claim the Sportsman of the Year award.

Springbok coach Rassie Erasmus was named Coach of the Year.

The Proteas netball team picked up the award for Team of the Year after winning this year's Africa Netball World Cup and finishing fourth at the Netball World Cup in Liverpool.


Sports Administrator of the Year - Cecilia Molokwane

Sportsman of the Year - Moruti Mthalane

Sportsman of the Year with a disability - Ntando Mahlangu

Sportswoman of the Year - Tatjana Schoenmaker

Sportswoman of the Year with a disability - Anrune Liebenberg-Weyers

Team of the Year - Spar Proteas

Newcomer of the Year - Michael Houlie

Coach of the Year - Rassie Erasmus

Volunteer of the Year - Mervyn Mooi

The Recreation Body of the Year - United through Sports

Photographer of the Year - Philip Maeta

School Team of the Year - St Benedict's College

Developing school team of the Year - Ikhwezilesizwe Primary School under 13

The People's Choice of the Year - Siya Kolisi

Indigenous Game Team - KZN Khokho Female team

Federation of the Year - Netball SA

Sports Star of the Year - Tatjana Schoenmaker

- Compiled by Lynn Butler


Read News24’s Comments Policy


Which is your favourite water-related sport?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.