Water Sport

Durban Surf finish as 2019 Lifesaving SA champions

2019-03-28 16:35
Durban Surf
Durban Surf

Port Elizabeth - The inspirational Johan Lourens led from the front with 48 points as Tuks were crowned champions at the General Tire Lifesaving SA National Club Pool Championships.

Lourens, as dominant as he was at last year's championship, was unmatched in the male open division with the points he scored. However, the brilliant Carmel Billson (open female) and Zanri Pieterse (female u19) also scored 48 points.

The Nippers took to the pool at Newton Park on Thursday after the Nippers surf championships ended at Kings Beach. Kwazulu-Natal's Durban Surf are the 2019 champions.

Durban Surf, with 372 points, dramatically edged the Western Cape's Fish Hoek into second place. Fish Hoek finished with 370 points after three days of action at Port Elizabeth's Kings Beach.

Durban Surf's Tannah Smith was also named the female u14 competitor of the championships, with Plett's Matthew van Coller the male u14 winner. Smith, Suncoast Pirates' Tayla Haslam (female u13) and Plett’s Hannah de Necker (female under nine) won the most individual titles.

*The junior and senior surf championship started on Thursday, as did the Nippers' pool championship.

Durban Surf

General Tire Lifesaving South Africa National Club Pool Championships Competitors of the Competition winners:


Under 15 - Chloe Le Roux (Mangaung)

Under 17 - Sulinke Van Der Berg (Mangaung)

Under 19 - Zanri Pieterse (Harties Reflection)

Open - Carmel Billson (Marine)


Under 15 - Len-Douglas Mac Kay (Bloemfontein)

Under 17 - Alfonso Janse van Rensburg (East London)

Under 19 - Kian Du Toit (Boksburg)

Open - Johan Lourens (Tuks)

Nippers age group competitor winners at the General Tire Lifesaving South Africa National Championship


Under 9 - Hannah De Necker (Plett)

Under 10 - Emily Simpkins (Marine)

Under 11 - Zoe Hughes (Marine)

Under 12 - Keira Van Heerden (Summerstrand)

Under 13 - Tayla Haslam (Suncoast Pirates)

Under 14 - Tannah Smith (Durban Surf)


Under 9 - Ryan Nagel (Plett)

Under 10 - Joseph Brading (Fish Hoek)

Under 11 - Luc Brand (Marine)

Under 12 - Wade Beukes (Fish Hoek)

Under 13 - Luc O’Brien (Umhlanga Rock)

Under 14 - Matthew Van Coller (Plett) 

General Tire LSA Nippers National Club Surf Championship

1. Durban Surf 372 points

2. Fish Hoek 370

3. Umhlanga Rocks 314.5

4. Summerstrand and Llandudno 258

5. Plett 226

General Tire LSA Juniors Pool National Club Championships

1. Harties 219

2. Tuks 172

3. Mangaung 163

4. Boksburg 156

5. Marine 131.5

General Tire LSA Combined Pool National Club Championships (juniors and seniors)

1. Tuks 377 (champions)

2. Marine 324.5

3. Harties 322

4. Mangaung 163

5. Boksburg 156


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk
Breaking News


Which is your favourite water-related sport?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.