Water Sport

9 SA swimmers qualify for FINA World Champs

2019-04-13 09:25
chad le clos
Chad le Clos (Getty Images)

Durban - The SA National Aquatic Championships successfully concluded on Friday night with nine athletes clocking 12 FINA Qualification times and seven Para-swimmers posting 14 IPC Qualifying times during the five day competition, which took place at the Kings Park Aquatics Centre in Durban.

According to SuperSport.com, in the 50m freestyle, Brad Tandy raced to a FINA Qualification time of 21.92 in the morning heats session but was not able to better that time in the finals, touching the wall with a golden 22.25 ahead of Douglas Erasmus in 22.55 and Ryan Coetzee in 22.60.

Erin Gallagher celebrated her win in the women's 50m freestyle when she clocked 25.14; just 0.10secs over the Fina required 25.04, with Emma Chelius a close second in 25.38, while Olivia Nel and Tayla Lovemore shared the bronze medal when they both finished in 26.01.

Rebecca Meder added yet another gold medal to her tally, this time in the 200m individual medley in 2:14.44, ahead of Marlies Ross in 2:18.44 and Christin Mundell in 2:21.01, while the men's top spot was claimed by Eben Vorster in 2:02.71, followed by Neil Fair in 2:04.23 and Louw Oberholzer in 2:04.82.

In the long-distance 1 500m freestyle, Abi Meder, Hannah Robertson and Kate Beavon made up the medal podium in 17:15.59, 17:19.21 and 17:23.08, while in the men's 800m freestyle, the gold, silver and bronze medals went to Josh Dannhauser, Brent Szurdoki and Botswana's James Freeman in 8:03.06, 8:04.94 and 8:07.67, respectively.

Rebecca Meder, Gallagher, Erasmus and Matthew Bosch were also a part of KZN's mixed 4x100m freestyle relay gold winning team in 3:36.38, while Bosch, alongside Ryan Coetzee, Martin Binedell and Bailey Musgrave also won the 4x100m medley relay in 3:43.54 and Tshwane's Nathania van Niekerk, Tatjana Schoenmaker, Samantha Labuschagne and Dune Coetzee scooped the women's relay gold in 4:09.77.

Franco Smit (S12) clocked his third IPC Qualification time in the 100m freestyle with a time of 56.39, to the required 59.87 and also went on to win the 50m backstroke in 29.83, while Paralympian Alani Ferreira (S13) won her respective 100m freestyle in 1:08.46.

Michaela Kretzen (S14) dominated the 50m backstroke and 100m freestyle, winning both races in 39.20 and 1:12.32, respectively.

In the remaining 50m backstroke events, the gold medals were claimed by Mark Roach (S15) in 29.68 and Melisca Everson (S10) in 49.80, while in the 100m freestyle Roach had to settle for a silver medal in 56.20 behind Pierre Dellieu (S15) in 55.81.

The final team for the FINA World Championships will be selected by Swimming SA, while the IPC World Championships team selection will be done by SASCOC.


Chad le Clos - 200m butterfly - 1:56.21

Chad le Clos - 100m butterfly - 51.39

Erin Gallagher - 100m freestyle - 54.34

Erin Gallagher - 100m butterfly - 57.67

Tatjana Schoenmaker - 200m breaststroke - 2:24.44

Tatjana Schoenmaker - 100m breaststroke - 1:06.83

Kaylene Corbett - 200m breaststroke - 2:25.62

Nathania van Niekerk - 200m backstroke - 2:11.37

Christopher Reid – 200m backstroke - 1:57.11

Ayrton Sweeney - 400m individual medley - 4:17.67

Ryan Coetzee - 100m butterfly - 51.85 (heats)

Brad Tandy - 50m freestyle - 21.92 (heats)


Franco Smit (S12) – 100m backstroke – 1:05.25

Franco Smit (S12) - 50m freestyle – 25.06

Franco Smit (S12) – 100m freestyle – 56.39

Alani Ferreira (S13) – 100m butterfly – 1:21.13

Alani Ferreira (SB13) - 100m breaststroke – 1:25.88

Alani Ferreira (S13) – 400m freestyle – 5:11.66 (heats)

Christian Sadie (S7) – 50m freestyle – 29.06

Christian Sadie (S7) - 50m butterfly – 30.37

Christian Sadie (SM7) – 200m individual medley – 2:38.09

Christian Sadie (SB7) - 100m breaststroke – 1:27.34 (heats)

Hendri Herbst (S11) – 50m freestyle – 28.87

Johann van Heerden (SB9) – 100m breaststroke – 1:12.30

Cornelle Leach (SB12) - 100m breaststroke – 1:34.22

Hendrik van der Merwe (SB5) - 100m breaststroke – 1:44.64

Read FULL story on SuperSport.com


Read News24’s Comments Policy


Which is your favourite water-related sport?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.