Tour de France

DiData's Cavendish wins fourth stage at TDF

2016-07-16 19:55
mark cavendish
Mark Cavendish (Getty Images)

Villars-les-Dombes - Britain's Mark Cavendish proved he's the fastest sprinter at the Tour de France this year with his fourth stage victory on Saturday.

The 31-year-old took the honours on the 208.5km 14th stage from Montelimar to Parc des Oiseaux ahead of Norway's Alexander Kristoff and Peter Sagan of Slovakia.

It was the Manx Missile's 30th stage victory in total at the Tour -- only Belgian legend Eddy Merckx has won more with 34.

Fellow Briton Chris Froome finished in the peloton to maintain the yellow jersey of race leader ahead of Dutchman Bauke Mollema and Adam Yates of Britain.

In a long, straight finish seemingly tailor-made for powerful German Marcel Kittel, Cavendish tucked in behind his rival's wheel to use the slipstream that afforded him.

When he darted out to make his dash for home, there was no doubt who was going to win.

Cavendish did weave a touch in front of Kittel, who sat up protesting, but by then the German was already beaten.

Kittel had won four stages in each of the 2013 and 2014 editions of the Tour while another German, Andre Greipel, also won four stages last year.

Over those three years, Cavendish won only three stages in total.

But the man who averaged five stage wins per Tour from 2008-2011 is clearly back to his best and proving he has no peers in sprinting.

Results Saturday in the 14th stage of the Tour de France, a 208.5-kilometer (130-mile) flat stage from Monteimar to Villars-les-Dombes, with a trio of Category 4 hills over the first half of the stage.

1. Mark Cavendish, Britain, Dimension Data, 5 hours, 43 minutes, 49 seconds.

2. Alexander Kristoff, Norway, Katusha, same time.

3. Peter Sagan, Slovakia, Tinkoff, same time.

4. Jon Degenkolb, Germany, Giant-Alpecin, same time.

5. Marcel Kittel, Germany, Etixx-QuickStep, same time.

6. Andre Greipel, Germany, Lotto Soudal, same time.

7. Bryan Coquard, France, Direct Energie, same time.

8. Davide Cimolai, Italy, Lampre-Merida, same time.

9. Christophe Laporte, France, Cofidis, same time.

10. Samuel Dumoulin, France, AG2R La Mondiale, same time.

11. Dylan Groenewegen, Netherlands, LottoNL-Jumbo, same time.

12. Sam Bennett, Ireland, Bora-Argon, same time.

13. Roy Curvers, Netherlands, Giant-Alpecin, same time.

14. Michael Matthews, Australia, Orica-BikeExchange, same time.

15. Matthew Hayman, Australia, Orica-BikeExchange, same time.

16. Anthony Roux, France, FDJ, same time.

17. Ramunas Navardauskas, Lithuania, Cannondale, same time.

18. Daniel McLay, Britain, Fortuneo-Vital Concept, same time.

19. Brice Feillu, France, Fortuneo-Vital Concept, same time.

20. Daryl Impey, South Africa, Orica-BikeExchange, same time.


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk
Breaking News



What do you enjoy most about the Tour de France?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.