Tour de France

TDF: Bardet wins 18th stage

2015-07-23 17:38
Chris Froome ahead of Thursday's 18th stage (Gallo Images).

St Jean de Maurienne - Romain Bardet took his first victory at the Tour de France with a solo breakaway on Thursday's 18th stage from Gap to Saint Jean de Maurienne.

It was only the second home victory at the Tour this year and also a second for 24-year-old Bardet's AG2R team following Alexis Vuillermoz on the eighth stage.

Compatriot Pierre Rolland was second with Winner Anacona of Colombia in third at the end of the second of four Alpine stages.

Chris Froome kept hold of the race leader's yellow jersey as the top eight riders all came in together at 3min 02sec behind the winner.

Bardet's victory, the biggest success of his young career, also propelled him into the top 10 in the overall standings.

He is now the leading Frenchman having edged ahead of Warren Barguil by 16 seconds.

Having finished sixth overall last year, Bardet struggled in the first Pyrenean stage 10 days ago but has fought back well since.

He missed out on the 14th stage when sparring with French rival Thibaut Pinot in the final kilometre, allowing Englishman Stephen Cummings to beat them both.

But he managed to make the right move this time just before the summit of the hors category Col du Glandon.

Bardet was part of an earlier 29-man breakaway that was down to less than a dozen riders when he made his move.

Only Anacona crested the summit with him, 39km from the finish, but Bardet dropped the Colombian on the descent and then held off a poorly organised chase ot win by 33 seconds.

Amongst the favourites, both Alberto Contador and Vincenzo Nibali had tried their luck on the 21km long Glandon but helped by teammate Geraint Thomas, fourth overall, Froome kept a close eye on proceedings and no-one got away.

Movistar pair Nairo Quintana (3min 10sec) and Alejandro Valverde (4min 09sec) remain in the podium places.

Results from Tour de France (Gap - Saint-Jean-de-Maurienne, 186.5 km) on Thursday

1. Romain Bardet (France / AG2R) 5:03:40" 2. Pierre Rolland (France / Europcar) +33" 3. Winner Anacona (Colombia / Movistar) +59" 4. Bob Jungels (Luxembourg / Trek) 5. Jakob Fuglsang (Denmark / Astana) 6. Serge Pauwels (Belgium / Team MTN) +1:01" 7. Cyril Gautier (France / Europcar) +1:50" 8. Damiano Caruso (Italy / BMC Racing) 9. Andrew Talansky (U.S. / Cannondale) +1:55" 10. Warren Barguil (France / Giant) +3:02" 11. Robert Gesink (Netherlands / LottoNL) 12. Chris Froome (Britain / Team Sky)

Read more on:    tour de france  |  chris froome  |  cycling

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk



What do you enjoy most about the Tour de France?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.