Tour de France

MTN-Qhubeka name TDF team

2015-06-23 11:43
Team MTN-Qhubeka (File)

Cape Town - Team MTN-Qhubeka p/b Samsung has announced the final nine man team that will make history as the first African team to participate in the Tour de France. 

Starting on Saturday, July 4 the riders will represent the African continent on cycling’s most global stage, with the objective of driving the #BicyclesChangeLives campaign so that we can mobilise 5 000 kids in Africa with bicycles this July.

Our long list of 11 riders was announced on June 2. In the two weeks since this initial announcement, we saw the magnificent performance of our African team at the Criterium du Dauphine. It was the performance at the Dauphine that gave our management team the final confirmation to select our Le Tour team.

We are delighted to select two Eritrean riders, the first men ever from the country, to take part in the Tour de France. In all likelihood, Merhawi Kudus will also be the youngest rider in the race, while Daniel Teklehaimanot will start the Grande Boucle fresh off winning our team’s first-ever World Tour leaders jersey at the recent Criterium du Dauphine.

There will be three South African riders making their Tour de France debut. African champion, Louis Meintjes, South African champion, Jacques Janse van Rensburg, and Reinardt Janse van Rensburg.

Edvald Boasson Hagen brings a wealth of experience, having been a part of two previous Tour de France winning teams. Tyler Farrar has won stages in all three Grand Tours previously; Steve Cummings brings incredible time trial strength and the ever aggressive Serge Pauwels will compliment our five African riders, completing our African team for the 102nd Tour de France.

Natnael Berhane and Youcef Reguigi will be the two reserve riders for the team.

MTN-Qhubeka p/b Samsung riders for 102nd Tour de France

Edvald Boasson Hagen (Norway)
Steve Cummings (Great Britain)
Tyler Farrar (USA)
Jacques Janse van Rensburg (South Africa)
Reinardt Janse van Rensburg (South Africa)
Merhawi Kudus (Eritrea)
Louis Meintjes (South Africa)
Serge Pauwels (Belgium)
Daniel Teklehaimanot (Eritrea)

Read more on:    mtn-qhubeka  |  tdf 2015  |  cycling


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
1 comment
Comments have been closed for this article.



What do you enjoy most about the Tour de France?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.