Tour de France

Impey retains TDF position

2013-07-03 19:15
Daryl Impey (File)
Marseille - South Africa's National Time Trial Champion Daryl Impey retained his second overall position at the Tour de France after he was the 13th rider across the finish line, on the fifth stage of the Tour on Wednesday.

His Orica GreenEdge teammate Simon Gerrans held on to the yellow jersey finishing 15th in the stage won by British sprinter, Mark Cavendish.

Impey was part of the nine-man team which won the 25km team time trial by less than one second on Tuesday, the fourth-stage of the Tour, which was a mainly flat course ride around Nice.

This result pushed him to second on the leaderboard -- the highest ever position in the overall standings by a South African.

The team, which made its race debut last year, picked up its first Tour stage win on Monday after Gerrans won the third stage in a sprint finish and took over the overall lead from Belgian rider Jan Bakelants.

Impey was instrumental in that victory as he flawlessly led out Gerrans to his first win on the tour.

The 28-year-old from Johannesburg started his campaign on Saturday with an impressive 11th place finish.

He finished eighth in Sunday's stage-two, 156km ride across Corsica from Bastia to Ajaccio, putting him fourth on the standings.

Results of the Tour de France fifth stage, a 228.5km ride from Cagnes-sur-Mer to Marseille on Wednesday:
1. Mark Cavendish (GBR/OPQ) 5hr 31min 51sec
2. Edvald Boasson Hagen (NOR/SKY) at 0:00.
3. Peter Sagan (SVK/CAN) 0:00.
4. Andr Greipel (GER/LTB) 0:00.
5. Roberto Ferrari (ITA/LAM) 0:00.
6. Alexander Kristoff (NOR/KAT) 0:00.
7. Juan Jos Lobato (ESP/EUS) 0:00.
8. Ramunas Navardauskas (LTU/GRM) 0:00.
9. Cyril Lemoine (FRA/SOJ) 0:00.
10. Jos Joaquin Rojas (ESP/MOV) 0:00.
11. Samuel Dumoulin (FRA/ALM) 0:00.
12. John Degenkolb (GER/ARG) 0:00.
13. Daryl Impey (RSA/ORI) 0:00.
14. Danny van Poppel (NED/VAC) 0:00.
15. Simon Gerrans (AUS/ORI) 0:00.
16. Egoitz Garca (ESP/COF) 0:00.
17. Fabio Sabatini (ITA/CAN) 0:00.
18. Gert Steegmans (BEL/OPQ) 0:00.
19. Wout Poels (NED/VAC) 0:00.
20. Julien El Fars (FRA/SOJ) 0:00.

Read more on:    tdf  |  daryl impey  |  cycling

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk



What do you enjoy most about the Tour de France?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.