Tour de France

Gerrans wins third stage

2013-07-01 17:30
Simon Gerrans (AFP)

L'ile-Rousse - Australia's Simon Gerrans of the Orica-GreenEdge team won the third stage of the Tour de France on Monday in a sprint finish at the end of the 145-kilometre ride from Ajaccio to Calvi on Corsica.

Gerrans edged out Slovakia's Peter Sagan, last year's green jersey winner, in a photo finish with Spain's Jose Joaquin Rojas in third.

Belgium's Jan Bakelants, winner of the second stage, holds on to the overall race leader's yellow jersey by a one-second margin, while Sagan's second place allows him to take the green jersey for the best sprinter from Marcel Kittel.

The German Kittel had won the opening stage of the race in Bastia on Saturday.

Gerrans' victory is his second in the Tour, with his previous stage win dating back to 2008. His is the first win for an Australian in the race since Cadel Evans won the fourth stage en route to taking the yellow jersey in 2011.

"The stage went perfectly for me. It was fantastic," said Gerrans, who has won stages in all three Grand Tours and also won last year's Milan-San Remo.

"It was like riding one of the Ardennes Classics. We spent the entire day going up or down.

"I wasn't sure if I had won because it was so tight on the line. It was like a drag race between me and Peter at the end."

The defeat on the line would have been hard to take for Sagan, who also had to settle for second place in Sunday's stage in Ajaccio behind Bakelants, but pulling on the green jersey will serve as a welcome consolation.

Meanwhile, Gerrans' triumph comes as a welcome piece of good publicity for his Orica-GreenEdge team, who were caught at the centre of controversy on Saturday when their bus became stuck under a gantry at the first-stage finish line.

It was a good day all round for the team, with Simon Clarke featuring in a group of five riders who broke away from the peloton early and going on to reach the summit in each of the first three categorised climbs of the day.

It was a short but tricky stage, with the route up Corsica's west coast featuring practically no flat sections and a total of four climbs, most notably the testing category two ascent of the Col de Marsolino just 13.5 kilometres from the finish in Calvi.

That climb saw the peloton catch the five-man breakaway, which had been led by Dutchman Lieuwe Westra.

Apart from the break, it was a largely uneventful ride for the most part, albeit amid some absolutely spectacular scenery.

Not that many of the 198 riders would have been able to take in the views of the surrounding sea and mountains, least of all Geraint Thomas, the Welsh Team Sky rider.

It transpired early in the day that the two-time Olympic gold medallist had been diagnosed with a small pelvis fracture, which he suffered while falling in a mass crash in Saturday's first stage, although initial examinations failed to spot the problem.

A grimacing Thomas battled his way through the day's ride, which was more than could be said for Kazakh rider Andrey Kashechkin of the Astana team or Frenchman Yoann Bagot of Cofidis, who became the first two riders to abandon this year's Tour.

The Corsican section of the 100th Tour is now over, and the riders were due to depart for the French mainland later on Monday ahead of a short team time-trial in Nice on Tuesday.

Stage three results:
1. Simon Gerrans (Australia / Orica) 3:41:24"
2. Peter Sagan (Slovakia / Cannondale) ST
3. Jose Joaquin Rojas (Spain / Movistar)
4. Michal Kwiatkowski (Poland / Omega Pharma - Quick-Step)
5. Philippe Gilbert (Belgium / BMC Racing)
6. Juan Antonio Flecha (Spain / Vacansoleil)
7. Francesco Gavazzi (Italy / Astana)
8. Maxime Bouet (France / AG2R)
9. Julien Simon (France / Sojasun)
10. Gorka Izagirre (Spain / Euskaltel)
11. Edvald Boasson Hagen (Norway / Team Sky)
12. Romain Bardet (France / AG2R)
13. Cadel Evans (Australia / BMC Racing)
14. Sergey Lagutin (Uzbekistan / Vacansoleil)
15. Elia Favilli (Italy / Lampre)
16. Manuele Mori (Italy / Lampre)
17. Simon Geschke (Germany / Argos)
18. Davide Malacarne (Italy / Europcar)
19. Jan Bakelants (Belgium / RadioShack)
20. Peter Velits (Slovakia / Omega Pharma - Quick-Step)
22. Daryl Impey (South Africa / Orica)

Overall Classification:
1. Jan Bakelants (Belgium / RadioShack) 12:21:27"
2. Julien Simon (France / Sojasun) +1"
3. Simon Gerrans (Australia / Orica)
4. Michal Kwiatkowski (Poland / Omega Pharma - Quick-Step)
5. Edvald Boasson Hagen (Norway / Team Sky)
6. Daryl Impey (South Africa / Orica)
7. David Millar (Britain / Garmin)
8. Sergey Lagutin (Uzbekistan / Vacansoleil)
9. Cadel Evans (Australia / BMC Racing)
10. Romain Bardet (France / AG2R)

Read more on:    tdf  |  simon gerrans  |  cycling

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk



What do you enjoy most about the Tour de France?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.