South Africa

Van Niekerk named Sportsman of the Year

2015-11-23 07:15
Wayde van Niekerk (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - Sprinter Wayde van Niekerk has received South Africa’s Sportsman of the Year award.

The 10th annual awards were held in Bloemfontein on Sunday night.

Van Niekerk, 23, beat downhill mountain-biker Greg Minnaar and swimmer Chad le Clos to claim the prestigious prize.

Van Niekerk made headlines earlier this year when he claimed gold at the IAAF World Championships in Beijing to become the first African 400m runner in almost a century to win a major global title.

Van Niekerk posted the sixth fastest time in history, clocking 43.48 to claim the title.

In other awards, cyclist Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio received the Sportswoman of the Year award, cricketer Kagiso Rabada Newcomer of the Year, swimming coach Graham Hill Coach of the Year and the Springboks Sevens side claimed Team of the Year.

Wayde van Niekerk, SA Sportsman of the Year (Gallo Images)

Read more on:    wayde van niekerk  |  athletics

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Caster Semenya has been nominated for the 2018 Laureus World Sportswoman of the Year award. Which of the nominees deserves the award most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.