South Africa

McGregor slays the Hong Kong Dragon

2015-11-24 14:12
Hank McGregor (Supplied)

Pietermaritzburg - South Africa’s Hank McGregor (Jeep Team) edged out fellow countryman and defending champion, Sean Rice, to claim the 2015 Hong Kong Dragon Run title on Saturday. This is the second time McGregor has won the Dragon Run.

McGregor, who first won the race in 2013, crossed the line in 1:32:20, a mere 40 seconds ahead of defending champion, Rice, who completed the race in 1:33:00.

Hungary’s marathon kayak world champion, and debuting in his first ocean race, Adrian Boros, finished third in 1:46:46, followed by South Africa’s Clinton Cook in fourth (1:49:14) and Hong Kong’s Andrew Watts in fifth (1:49:18).

South African Nicole Russell, who also won the women’s race in 2014, successfully defended her title winning nearly 16 minutes ahead of her closest female competitor, and finished in an outstanding sixth place overall in 1:54:37.

Altogether, five South Africans finished in the top 10, with Craig Nortje rounding off the South African domination of the Dragon Run in ninth overall (1:56:05).

The Dragon Run forms part of the Surfski World Series, attracting a top-class field of paddlers. The 24km course was designed to use the north easterly winter monsoon, and on the Saturday, presented competitors with the biggest downwind conditions in this race’s history.

Said McGregor, “Every ocean paddler dreams of a race like this - big, burly waves and world-class downwind conditions. I’ve had an incredible trip here this year, especially having my wife, Pippa, join me. To top it off with a win in this intriguing race with its islands, cliff faces, fishing boats and massive ships, and of course the Chinese culture, which is just incredible.”


1. Hank McGregor (South Africa) - 1:32:20

2. Sean Rice (South Africa) - 1:33

3. Adrian Boros (Hungary) - 1:46:46

4. Clinton Cook (South Africa) - 1:49:14

5. Andrew Watts (Hong Kong) - 1:49:18

6. Nicole Russell (South Africa) - 1:54:37 (women's winner)

7. Rob Wall (Hong Kong) - 1:54:58

8. Scott Deveril (Australia) - 1:55:23

9. Craig Nortje (South Africa) - 1:56:05

10. Jake Hamstra (Hong Kong) - 1:58:24

Read more on:    hank mcgregor  |  canoeing


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.