South Africa

Blitzstokke squad to take on All Stars named

2015-11-26 10:25
Hockey (File)

Cape Town - The South African men’s indoor hockey team has been named to face a star-studded PSi International All Stars line-up in the four-match Denbeys Indoor Series in Durban and Pietermaritzburg next month.

While five of South Africa’s national team to take on the All Stars wore the green and gold at the 2015 Indoor Hockey World Cup (IHWC) in Leipzig, Germany in February, seven of the 12 players will make their debuts. The International All Stars team has five Indoor Hockey World Cup winners in their midst.

Pierre le Roux, coach of the SA team, said there was a reason behind the selection of so many newcomers for the December 10 to 13 series.

“For the Blitzstokke, this is the start of our 2018 Indoor Hockey World Cup campaign and process. The team was picked to have a look at some new players and increase the size of the squad.

“Some of the players that attended the 2015 Indoor Hockey World Cup were deliberately overlooked for this event, as we know their capabilities. This will allow us at the next selection event to choose between a larger pool of players while also creating much-needed competition in the squad.”

Eight of the 12-man SA team were in the KZN Raiders side that won the SA Interprovincial Hockey Tournament in Pietermaritzburg last weekend, while KZN Inland and Western Province have two players apiece.

The four players in the All Stars team who struck 2015 IHWC gold with the Netherlands were Lauren Goedgebuure (voted best goalkeeper), Sjoerd de Wert, Teun Rohof and captain Robert Tigges, while Benjamin Weiss was in the victorious German side that won the 2011 IHWC.

Apart from the exciting contests on offer for the general public the international clashes will also provide a great learning experience for the boys and girls participating in the PSi Nationals in KZN next month.


(Test matches in brackets)

Chris McCathie (13 Tests), Matt Fairweather (14), Justin Domleo (14), Robin Jones (0), Mohamed Mea (11), Jethro Eustice (0), Taine Paton (0), Keagan Robinson (0), Keenan du Toit (0), Matt Coombes (0), Matthew Becker (0), Craig Haley (11)

Pierre le Roux (coach), Ryan Hack (assistant coach), Reggie Smith (manager)


Lauren Goedgebuure, Sjoerd de Wert, Teun Rohof, Robert Tigges (Netherlands, 2015 IHWC winners); Benjamin Weiss (Germany, 2011 IHWC winner), Andreu Enrich (Spain); Tendai Maredza (Zimbabwe); Siyabonga Martins (Namibia)


Thursday, December 10 (19:00, UKZN Westville)
Friday, December 11 (19:00, UKZN Westville
Saturday, December 12 (19:00, St Anne’s DSG)
Sunday, December 13 (19:00, UKZN Westville)

Read more on:    hockey

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Floyd 'Money' Mayweather v Conor 'The Notorious' McGregor ... who've you got in Saturday's mega fight?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.