South Africa

Hockey Cup teams announced

2015-01-07 19:36
(File, Gallo Images)

Johannesburg - There is a strong KwaZulu-Natal flavour to the South African national men's and women's indoor hockey teams named for the 2015 Indoor Hockey World Cup to be played in Leipzig, Germany from 4 - 8 February.

KwaZulu-Natal has for some time been a dominant force in South African indoor hockey at interprovincial level.

The women's team of 11 have five players from KZN Coastal Raiders, including captain Cindy Hack and five from KZN Inland.

The men's team have opted to have five players from KZN Coastal Raiders, three from KZN Inland, two from the Western Cape and two more from Southern Gauteng.

Both Indoor World Cup teams have a series of build-up matches in Europe prior to the quadrennial showdown.

SA Indoor Hockey World Cup teams:

Women: Amy Greaves, Taryn de Winnaar, Tracy Martens, Eloise Walters, Faye Cooper, Cindy Hack (captain), Jessica O'Connor, Kara Stella, Kelly Madsen, Shelley Freyer, Celia Evans.

Coach: Lennie Botha.

Men: Richard Curtis, Mohamed Mea, Matt Fairweather, Geoff Abbott, Jarryd Jones, Chris McCathie, Ayden Shrives, Justin Domleo, Dale Isaac (captain), Craig Haley, PG Geldenhuys, Keegan Kieck.

Coach: Ryan Hack.

Read more on:    hockey world cup

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Floyd 'Money' Mayweather v Conor 'The Notorious' McGregor ... who've you got in Saturday's mega fight?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.