South Africa

SPAR gsport finalists named

2013-10-30 15:04
Mapaseka Makhanya (Gallo Images)
Cape Town - Road running star Mapaseka Makhanya will battle it out with hot shot surfer Bianca Buitendag and champion rower Kirsten McCann for the coveted SPAR gsport Athlete of the Year award.

This was announced by leading women’s sports initiative gsport, as it unveiled the list of finalists for the eighth annual gsport Awards on November 20, 2013, at the prestigious Wanderers Club in Illovo.

“It is now up to the public to choose the overall winners in these categories. It was a tough challenge for the judges and gsport thanks them for applying their minds and producing top finalists in each category,” said gsport founder, Kass Naidoo.

“SPAR is proud to be associated with these prestigious sports awards for the second year,” said SPAR Sponsorship Manager, Belinda Nel.

“The nominations each year feature the top South African women who all deserve to win. We celebrate each of these powerful women in each of these categories as they are winners within their own right,” said Nel.

Public voting is open on the gsport website - - from October 30 to November 13, 2013.

Former winner Kgothatso Montjane will take on fellow Paralympic stars, Ilse Hayes and Sandra Khumalo for the gsport Athlete of the Year with Disability award.

Golf sensation Nobuhle Dlamini, junior track star Gena Lofstrand, and top junior swimmer Nathania van Niekerk are up for top honours in the gsport Up and Coming Athlete category.

SPAR Proteas netball coach Elize Kotze, who won the gsport Coach of the Year award last year, is up for the award again this year, alongside national diving coach Dominique Philippopoulos and Suzanne Ferreira, who coaches a number of South Africa’s top Paralympic athletes.

In the Woman of the Year category, Netball South Africa President, Mimi Mthethwa, acting SAFA Technical Director Fran Hilton-Smith and international rugby referee Marlize Jordaan are up for top honours.

Morning Live Sports anchor, Vaylen Kirtley, is up against EWN Sport Johannesburg news editor, Cindy Poluta and Lesedi FM sportscaster, Dikeledi Makhongoana, the Woman in Media award.

In the gsport Volunteer of the Year category, swimming development coach Betty Dlamini is shortlisted alongside gaming coach Morizane Boyes and KZN Tennis veteran administrator, Delva Schafer.

Popular Soccerzone presenter Minnie Dlamini leads the battle for gsport Style Star honours where she will be up against 5FM radio personality and DJ Poppy Ntshongwana and Vuzu presenter Dineo Moeketsi.

List of Nominees for Public Voting:

SPAR gsport Athlete of the Year Award:
Bianca Buitendag
Kirsten McCann
Mapaseka Makhanya

Athlete of the Year with Disability:
Ilse Hayes
Sandra Khumalo
Kgothatso Montjane

Up and Coming Athlete of the Year:
Nobuhle Dlamini
Gena Lofstrand
Nathania van Niekerk

Coach of the Year:
Dr Suzanne Ferreira
Elize Kotze
Dominique Philippopoulos

Volunteer of the Year:
Morizane Boyes
Betty Dlamini
Delva Schafer

Woman in Media:
Cindy Poluta
Vaylen Kirtley
Dikeledi Makhongoana

Style Star:
Poppy Ntshongwana
Dineo Moeketsi
Minnie Dlamini

Woman of the Year:
Mimi Mthethwa
Fran Hilton-Smith
Marlize Jordaan


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.