South Africa

SA women’s hockey team named

2015-05-26 12:52
SA hockey Women (Gallo)

Cape Town - The South Africa women’s hockey team has been named for the World League semi-final tournament that is to take place in Valencia, Spain from June 10-21.

The team will be captained by Nicolene Terblanche of Northern Blues with Jade Mayne of Western Province her deputy.

Marsha Cox, who has led the national team at the World Cup, Olympic Games, Commonwealth Games and other major events, is currently not available for selection.

SA convenor of selectors Mickey Gordon said that Cox, “has played an integral role in the team and we look forward to her participation in the SA Women’s Interprovincial Tournament (that takes place from August 23-29 in Potchefstroom).”

Gordon, who heads the national selection panel that includes Jo Morley-Jepson and Gordon Pentecost, said another hugely experienced SA player who has also captained the team in Test matches, striker Sulette Damons, was not available due to injury.

“Sulette is a class striker and we look forward to her return to match fitness,” said Gordon.

SA head coach Sheldon Rostron said the players who have been selected for the team “are more than capable and have the qualities to fulfil the tasks and objectives at hand". 

The 10 teams in Valencia will be competing in one of the two women’s World League semi-final tournaments taking place in June. The other is in Antwerp, Belgium.

The top four teams in each of the Valencia and Antwerp events qualify for the World League final tournament at the end of the year in Argentina. Also on offer in Valencia are three places at the Rio 2016 Olympic Games. The top three teams in Valencia qualify for Rio. Should teams not qualify in Valencia for Rio, the other avenue is through their continental championships.

Pool A in Valencia features world No 3 Argentina, world No 8 Great Britain, world No 15 Spain, world No 7 China and world No 20 Canada. Pool B includes world No 5 USA, world No 6 Germany, world No 11 South Africa, world No 14 Ireland and world No 29 Uruguay.



Sanani Mangisa (Southern Gauteng), Anelle van Deventer (North West)


Lisa Deetlefs (Southern Gauteng), Celia Evans (North West), Erin Hunter (Western Province), Nicole Walraven (Free State)


Shelley Russell (Southern Gauteng), Line Malan (Free State), Illse Davids, Quanita Bobbs (both Western Province), Nicolene Terblanche (captain, Northern Blues)


Jade Mayne (vice-captain), Candice Manuel (both Western Province), Lilian du Plessis, Bernie Coston (both Southern Gauteng), Dirkie Chamberlain (Northern Blues), Kelly Madsen (KZN Coastal Raiders), Tanya Britz (Free State)

Read more on:    hockey

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Floyd 'Money' Mayweather v Conor 'The Notorious' McGregor ... who've you got in Saturday's mega fight?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.