South Africa

SA team named for BMX World Champs

2015-05-22 12:19
Maris Strombergs of Latvia (left) and Sifiso Nhlapo of South Africa locked in a thrilling main final of the elite men's competition on day three of the UCI BMX World Champs in Pietermaritzburg. (Gameplan Media, Mark Squire)

Cape Town - A team of 17 has been selected to wear the green and gold of South Africa at the UCI BMX World Championships in Belgium.

Of that team five are senior elite and one junior elite.

Stalwart Teagan O’Keeffe is the sole elite woman while Youth Olympian Alex LImberg, Godfrey Buziba, Themba Hlope and Kyle Dodd are the elite men.

Dodd faces a race against time to make the event in Heusden-Zolder as he recovers from a broken wrist.

The only junior elite woman is LImberg’s fellow Youth Olympian Maia Rawlins.

There’s still one competition before World Championships and that’s legs four, five and six of the National Age Group Series (NAG) on home turf in Pietermaritzburg, KwaZulu-Natal on 4-5 July.

It’s doubtful that all of the team named will in fact travel to Belgium as funding is extremely limited and concentrated on the elite riders.

An interesting fact about the 380-metre track is that’s situated on the former Formula 1 track, Circuit Zolder and it’s three corners have been named after the fastest women BMXers in the world.?

According to information on the UCI website ‘riders will tackle the first corner, the Buchanan Bend, named after Australian rider and World Champion in 2012 and 2013 Caroline Buchanan.

‘Once past the pro-section, the 2nd corner awaits, the Pajon Curva, named after Colombia’s Mariana Pajon, reigning Olympic Champion and World Champion.

Before the last straight is the 3rd corner or Post Corner; this is named after American rider Alise Post 2nd at the 2012 and 2014 World Championships and 1st Pro Elite Women USABMX 2014.’

The full team for Belgium (category in brackets) is:
Alex Dolman (15 Boys), Alex Limberg (Elite M), Brandon Pratt (17-24 or Junior Men), Connor Terblanche (13 Boys), Dylan Eggar (16 Boys), Godfrey Buziba (Elite M), Kane Herbert (Cruiser 25-29 Men, or 20” 25-29 Men), Kaylin Smith (11 Girls), Kita Uys (10 Girls), Lauren Coetzee (16 Girls), Maia Rawlins (Junior Elite W), Manqoba Madida (16 Boys, Themba Hlophe (Elite M), Tyrone Johns (Cruiser 30-and-over Men, or 20” 30-and-over Men), William Jackson (Cruiser 45-and-over Men), Kyle Dodd (Elite M), Teagan O’Keeffe (Elite W)


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Floyd 'Money' Mayweather v Conor 'The Notorious' McGregor ... who've you got in Saturday's mega fight?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.