South Africa

SA team for IPC champs named

2015-05-30 11:22
Emily Gray (AFP)

Cape Town - A team of 10 athletes will represent South Africa at the IPC Swimming World Championships in Glasgow, Scotland later this year.

The team will take on the world's top para-swimmers over a period of seven days from July 13-19.

More than 650 swimmers from at least 50 countries will take the plunge in one of the highlights on the International Paralympic Committee calendar.

The SA team for Glasgow includes seven men and three women.

Paralympians Kevin Paul, Hendrik Herbst and Achmat Hassiem are included in the men's line-up as is Paralympian Emily Gray.

The swimmers will use the same pool as that used for the Commonwealth Games last year.

However, the venue housing the 50m, 10-lane pool has been extensively refurbished and extended. Swimmers now also have a new 50m, six-lane warm-up and training pool at the world-class facility.

The last IPC Swimming World Championships were hosted by Montreal, Canada, two years ago, an event which saw 43 new world records being set and 172 gold medals handed out.

South African finished joint 22nd on the medals table in Canada with seven medals (one gold, two silver and four bronze).

SASCOC CEO Tubby Reddy said: 'Swimming has always been one of the codes which has made South African sport proud. This occasion should be no different. These are all top swimmers and I have no doubt that they'll grab a good few medals in Glasgow.'

Added SASCOC President Gideon Sam: 'We wish the team all the very best in Glasgow where our swimmers had a successful Commonwealth Games last year.

'With the retirement of some of our leading para-swimmers in the last while it's now up to this group of talented athletes to step up to the plate and show that they can still fly the SA flag proudly. We are only just over a year from the Rio Paralympics and this is an ideal platform for our para-swimmers to shine.'

The team will be managed by Dea Slattery and accompanied by coaches Karin Hugo, Delon Dannhauser, Sibani Makhanya and Theo Verster as well as physiotherapist Jessica Joffe.

SA team:


Hendrik Herbst, Kevin Paul, Achmat Hassiem, Johann van Heerden, Challis Wright, Hendrik van der Merwe, James Bezuidenhout


Emily Gray, Adri Visser, Beth Nothling

Read more on:    swimming

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Floyd 'Money' Mayweather v Conor 'The Notorious' McGregor ... who've you got in Saturday's mega fight?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.