South Africa

McGregor wins Molokai race

2014-05-19 10:18
Hank McGregor (Ikaika Racing Association/Gameplan Media)

Honolulu - Hank McGregor underscored his status as one of the best paddlers on the planet by winning  a second title in the Maui Jim Molokai Challenge in Hawaii on Sunday, beating Australian star Clint Robinson in a thrilling finish to the tough 56km race.

Faced with tough flat and windless conditions for the Kaiwi channel crossing between Molokai and Oahu, the title race quickly turned into a two-horse affair between defending champion Robinson and 2009 champ and current K1 World Marathon champion McGregor.

McGregor made a charge with six kilometres to go and lead by almost a minute as he approached the turn at the fabled China Wall, where he was able to surf the swell close to the shore thanks to the mild ocean conditions.

Robinson however put in a serious last ditch effort to reel in McGregor as the turned into the estuary that houses the finish, and in the final two kilometres he ground McGregor's lead down to thirty seconds.

Australians Cory Hill and Jeremy Cotter filled third and fourth places respectively before current world series leader and Molokai debutant Jasper Mocké crossed the line to take firth, just ahead of another Australian stalwart Martin Kenny.

12-time champion Oscar Chalupsky finished 10th, with the Durban North brothers Ross and Bruce Poacher the first double skin crew home in 11th.

The women's race was won by Rachel Clarke from Lisa Wadling, and the double ski crew of Sally Marks and Alena Greensill.

The field was made to work hard in the flat conditions with no assistance from the trade winds and swell, which deserted the Kaiwi channel after a fortnight of excellent downwind racing conditions. Temperatures topped thirty degrees throughout the race, with stifling humidity making racing tough for the paddlers.

The prevailing conditions replicated last year's disappearance for the trade winds, and came close to replicating the 2009 conditions in which McGregor took his maiden Molokai title.

Overall results:

1. Hank McGregor 3:35.17
2. Clint Robinson 3:35.40
3. Cory Hill 3:41.49
4. Jeremy Cotter 3:44.24
5. Jasper Mocke 3:48.34
6. Martin Kenny 3:48.50
7. Lewis Laughlin 3:52.58
8. Dorian Wolter 3:57.46
9. Hiromana Flores 3:59.13
10. Oscar Chalupsky 4:02.15

Read more on:    hank mcgregor  |  surfing  |  good news

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Floyd 'Money' Mayweather v Conor 'The Notorious' McGregor ... who've you got in Saturday's mega fight?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.