South Africa

EFC 37 delivers the goods

2015-02-22 06:29
Leon Mynhardt (Supplied)

Best EFC submissions of 2014

2014-12-23 11:01

2014 has been an explosive year in the Hexagon. Enjoy the top submissionss of 2014 as we look back on the past year of EFC.

Johannesburg - 2015 is set to be another trail blazing year for EFC, and the organisation kicked off the year with an electrifying night of action. In what will be remembered as one of the most hyped cards of in recent memory, a sold out Carnival City bore witness to history.

Leon Mynhardt put an end to EFC’s longest running rivalry by disposing of Don Madge by way of a guillotine in the first round of their lightweight title fight. Mynhardt has now retained his belt on three successive occasions, and has firmly stamped his authority on the lightweight division.

The highly anticipated welterweight title fight between Adam Speechly and David Buirski co-headlined the event. Speechly, a two-time champion in the welterweight division, was determined to be the one to finally end the infamous welterweight curse and retain his title. It was not to be, as Buirski executed a perfect game plan and nullified all of Speechly’s advances. Eventually cornering the champion against the fence, Buirski scored a stunning TKO to become the new welterweight champion.

EFC 37 also saw the return of South African MMA legend Darren Daniel to the Hexagon. He faced the youthful exuberance of Dricus du Plessis in a short but action filled battle. Daniel started well, despite an early guillotine scare in the round, taking control of the early exchanges until the latter parts of the first round. Du Plessis had other plans though, and after a masterful sweep from the bottom, managed to sink in a rear naked choke that left Daniel with no option but to tap.

In a three round war of attrition, Matt Buirski displayed his improved wrestling and experience to dominate the confident Tumisang Madiba in the first two rounds. Madiba, coming into the fight on a three fight win streak, attempted a late come back which proved too little too late. Buirski was awarded the win via unanimous judges decision.

In the opening bout on the main card, lightweight prospect Themba Gorimbo took on EFC stalwart Alex Cheboub. Gorimbo came out aggressively from the onset, while Cheboub seemed sluggish and out of sorts. Gorimbo earned himself a slick guillotine submission early in the first round taking his professional MMA record to 5-0, with a shot at Mynhardt surely not far away now.

On the prelimanry card, fans saw history being made as Hungarian Zita Varju and South African Danella Eliasov opened the EFC women’s flyweight division. Varju came out aggressive and stunned Eliasov with a few shots. However, Eliasov quickly reverted to her background in Brazilian Jiu Jitsu and took Varju to the ground. Eliasov ground her way into a mounted position where she attempted an arm bar but was unable to get the submission. Using her dominant position, Eliasov managed a flurry of hammer fists on the Hungarian, forcing the referee to call a stop and award the South African a TKO victory

Fight of the Night was awarded to heavyweights Cyril Asker and Ricky Misholas for their three round war. Knockout of the Night went to David Buirski for his K.O of Adam Speechly. Submission of the Night went to Themba Gorimbo for his submission of Alex Cheboub. Performance bonuses were handed out to Zita Varju, Danella Eliasov, Dricus du Plessis and Darren Daniel for their exceptional performances.

The full EFC 37 results are:

Lourens Botes defeated Bill Thusi via armbar 2:38 in round 1.
Lyle Karam defeated Marcel Teniers via TKO 2:18 in round 2.
Elvis Moyo defeated Lance Ceronio via TKO in 2:38 in round 2.
Alain Ilunga defeated Sydney Mokgolo via unanimous decision.    
Danie van Heerden defeated Ian Visser via KO in 2:27 into round 1.
Danella Eliasov defeated Zita Varju via TKO in 4:59 in round 1.  
Cyril Asker defeated Ricky Misholas via unanimous decision.
Themba Gorimbo defeated Alex Cheboub via guillotine choke 1:50 in round 1.
Matthew Buirski defeated Tumisang Madiba via unanimous decision.  
Dricus du Plessis defeated Darren Daniel via rear naked choke 4:50 in round 1.
David Buirski defeated Adam Speechly via KO 4:19 into round 1.
Leon Mynhardt defeated Don Madge via guillotine choke 3:08 into round 1.

Read more on:    efc


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.