SASCOC: Khoza v Sam

2012-10-31 19:54

Johannesburg - The SA Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) on Wednesday revealed that PSL chairperson Irvin Khoza will contest Gideon Sam for the position of president at its quadrennial elections next month.

Sam, a former president of Swimming SA and Springbok team manager, has been president of the Olympic body since 2008 when he replaced former SASCOC chief Moss Mashishi.

Khoza's challenge for the SASCOC presidency comes ahead of the end of his term as PSL chairperson in November.

The elections to fill various positions for the next four-year cycle will be held at SASCOC's quadrennial general meeting at Olympic House in Johannesburg on November 24.

Two vice-presidents will also be elected at the QGM where nine names have been submitted for these positions.

Khoza will also be challenging for one of the vice-president along with SA Football Association president Kirsten Nematandani and SA Rugby Union deputy president Mark Alexander.

Other candidates include incumbent vice-presidents Hajera Kajee and Les Williams and Swimming SA president Jace Naidoo.

A total of 25 names have also been submitted for the five vacant SACOC board positions.

Candidates for the five board positions include sport scientist Tim Noakes and SA wheelchair racer Ernst van Dyk.

Van Dyk has won a record nine wheelchair titles in the Boston Marathon and he is a multiple medallist at the Paralympics.

The nominations are as follows:

President: Gideon Sam, Irvin Khoza

Vice-president: Hajera Kajee (currently first vice-president), Mark Alexander, Les Williams (currently second vice-president), Kirsten Nematandani, Irvin Khoza, Wimpie du Plessis, Colin Webster, Jace Naidoo and Kobus Marais.

Board members: Anthea Harms, Wimpie du Plessis, Kirsten Nematandani, Elise du Rand, Mubarak Mahomed, Nomsa Mahlangu, Mami Diale, Les Williams, Hajera Kajee, Keikabile Motlatsi, Jeremiah Segwaba, Mark Alexander, Temba Hlasho, Merrill King, Kaya Majeke, Selwyn Nathan, Moeki Grobbelaar, Kobus Marais, Colin Webster, Jace Naidoo, Timothy Noakes, Ilhaam Groenewald, Goliath Munro, Ernst van Dyk, James Letuka.


  • shane.asselbergs - 2012-10-31 20:31

    It would be difficult to find two worse candidates.

  • tolo.maano - 2012-10-31 20:48

    SAfa to sascoc cum on khoza....

  • pages:
  • 1