Other Sport

SA hockey men named for Rio

2013-02-02 14:26
SA hockey men (Gallo Images)
Cape Town - The names of the 18 players selected to represent South Africa for the World League Round 2 men’s hockey tournament scheduled for Rio de Janeiro, Brazil from February 27 to March 5 were released by the SA Hockey Association at the conclusion of the national training camp here on Saturday.

The SA team will be captained by Rhett Halkett and will tackle Brazil, tournament favourites Argentina, Trinidad and Tobago, Chile and the USA.

The top two teams at the conclusion of the Rio round-robin tournament will qualify for the World League men’s semi-finals, which will take place in Rotterdam, Holland from June 13 to 23, and in Johor Bahru, Malaysia from June 29-July 7.

Depending on where they are placed in the world rankings at the conclusion of the World League round two tournaments will determine which city the top two teams in Rio will be flying to for those semi-final events.

A South Africa “A” side was also announced, which will form part of the greater SA squad.

SA men's team:

Miguel da Graca, Pierre de Voux, Tim Drummond, Jethro Eustice, Ashlin Freddy, Matt Guise-Brown, Craig Haley, Rhett Halkett (capt), Julian Hykes, Gowan Jones, Lloyd Norris-Jones, Taine Paton, Clint Panther, Rassie Pieterse, Jonty Robinson, Austin Smith, Ricky West, Oliver Whitely.

Non-travelling reserves for Rio: Dylan Coombs, Taylor Dart, Brandon Panther, Michael Smith, Dylan Swanepoel, Clive Terwin.

South Africa “A” side (which will make up the greater squad):
Dylan Coombs, Taylor Dart, Matt Fairweather, Geowynne Gamiet, Grant Glutz, Gareth Heynes, Jody Hosking, Robin Jones, Jacques le Roux, Mohamed Mea, Owen Mvimbi, Brandon Panther, Keegan Robinson, Daniel Sibbald, Nic Spooner, Michael Smith, Dylan Swanepoel, Clive Terwin.

Non-travelling South Africa “A” reserves:
Daniel Bell, Brynn Cleak, Nic Gonsalves, Ignatius Malgraff, Andrew Manson, Chris Rembe, Grant Robertson, Greg Last.

Read more on:    sa hockey men  |  hockey

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Floyd 'Money' Mayweather v Conor 'The Notorious' McGregor ... who've you got in Saturday's mega fight?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.