Olympics 2012

Wiggins blitzes to gold medal

2012-08-01 17:32
Bradley Wiggins (AP)

London - Tour de France champion Bradley Wiggins of Britain bagged the fourth Olympic gold medal of his career here on Wednesday after blitzing his rivals to win the men's road race time trial.

Germany's reigning world champion Tony Martin finished second to take the silver with Britain's Chris Froome in third taking the bronze.

Wiggins, crowned Britain's first yellow jersey champion 10 days ago, hit an average speed of 52.11 km/h for the 44 km race against the clock which started and finished at the former residence of King Henry VIII, Hampton Court Palace.

Reigning world champion Martin was racing under par after suffering a broken wrist on the Tour de France and he did well to clock 51:21.

Froome, who finished runner-up to Wiggins on the Tour de France, timed 51:47 to keep American Taylor Phinney off the bronze by just 11secs.

Defending Olympic champion Fabian Cancellara, who was also racing with injury after banging his shoulder Saturday in a crash during the men's road race, finished well out of the medals in 52:53.

It is Wiggins's first Olympic title on the road, having won his three previous gold's in track cycling's pursuit events.

Results for the cycling events held on Wednesday from the Summer Olympics:

Men's Time Trials


1. Bradley Wiggins, Britain, 50:39.54.
2. Tony Martin, Germany, 51:21.54.
3. Christopher Froome, Britain, 51:47.87.
4. Taylor Phinney, United States, 52:38.07.
5. Marco Pinotti, Italy, 52:49.28.
6. Michael Rogers, Australia, 52:51.39.
7. Fabian Cancellara, Switzerland, 52:53.71.
8. Bert Grabsch, Germany, 53:18.04.
9. Jonathan Castroviejo Nicolas, Spain, 53:29.36.
10. Janez Brajkovic, Slovenia, 54:09.72.
11. Lieuwe Westra, Netherlands, 54:19.62.
12. Vasil Kiryienka, Belarus, 54:30.29.
13. Edvald Boasson Hagen, Norway, 54:30.87.
14. Lars Ytting Bak, Denmark, 54:33.21.
15. Jakob Fuglsang, Denmark, 54:34.49.
16. Gustav Larsson, Sweden, 54:35.26.
17. Philippe Gilbert, Belgium, 54:39.98.
18. Nelson Filipe S. Simoes Oliveira, Portugal, 54:41.57.
19. Jack Bauer, New Zealand, 54:54.16.
20. Denis Menchov, Russia, 54:59.26.
21. Ramunas Navardauskas, Lithuania, 55:12.32.
22. Lars Boom, Netherlands, 55:29.74.
23. Alexandr Vinokurov, Kazakhstan, 55:37.05.
24. Fumiyuki Beppu, Japan, 55:40.64.
25. Maciej Bodnar, Poland, 55:49.67.
26. Magno Prado Nazaret, Brazil, 55:50.77.
27. David MmcCann, Ireland, 56:03.77.
28. Ryder Hesjedal, Canada, 56:06.18.
29. Sylvain Chavanel, France, 56:07.67.
30. Michael Albasini, Switzerland, 56:38.38.
31. Assan Bazayev, Kazakhstan, 56:40.77.
32. Luis Leon Sanchez Gil, Spain, 56:59.16.
33. Tomas Aurelio Gil Martinez, Venezuela, 57:05.12.
34. Mouhcine Lahsaini, Morocco, 57:25.24.
35. Fabio Andres Duarte Arevalo, Colombia, 57:34.20.
36. Alireza Haghi, Iran, 57:41.44.
37. Ahmet Akdilek, Turkey, 59:11.19.

Women's Time Trials


1. Kristin Armstrong, United States, 37:34.82.
2. Judith Arndt, Germany, 37:50.29.
3. Olga Zabelinskaya, Russia, 37:57.35.
4. Linda Melanie Villumsen, New Zealand, 37:59.18.
5. Clara Hughes, Canada, 38:28.96.
6. Emma Pooley, Britain, 38:37.70.
7. Amber Neben, United States, 38:45.17.
8. Ellen van Dijk, Netherlands, 38:53.68.
9. Trixi Worrack, Germany, 39:20.73.
10. Elizabeth Armitstead, Britain, 39:26.24.
11. Pia Sundstedt, Finland, 40:01.69.
12. Tatiana Antoshina, Russia, 40:12.49.
13. Shara Gillow, Australia, 40:25.03.
14. Emma Johansson, Sweden, 40:38.56.
15. Audrey Cordon, France, 40:40.51.
16. Marianne Vos, Netherlands, 40:40.79.
17. Emilia Fahlin, Sweden, 41:15.86.
18. Clemilda Fernandes Silva, Brazil, 41:25.39.
19. Denise Ramsden, Canada, 41:44.81.
20. Elena Tchalykh, Azerbaijan, 41:47.06.
21. Tatiana Guderzo, Italy, 41:48.94.
22. Noemi Cantele, Italy, 41:51.18.
23. Liesbet de Vocht, Belgium, 42:08.28.
24. Ashleigh Moolman, South Africa, 42:23.57.

Read more on:    olympics 2012  |  bradley wiggins  |  cycling


Read News24’s Comments Policy

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk
Breaking News

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.