Lifesaving SA

Livesaving SA wins Federation of the Year award

2017-11-12 21:22
Dylan Tommy (File)

Cape Town - Lifesaving South Africa (LSA) has won the South Africa's Sports Federation of the Year award.

It is the first time Lifesaving South Africa has won the prestigious award in a year when the sport received a major commercial investment from General Tire South Africa and Princes Charlene of Monaco was confirmed as the Patron of Lifesaving South Africa.

LSA beat off the challenge of Netball South Africa and Surfing South Africa.

The SA Sports Awards took place on Sunday, November 12 at Emperors Palace in Johannesburg.

LSA President Dylan Tommy, on the Federation's nomination and success, hailed those who give so effortlessly of their time and who believe so much in the value of life.

"We are inspired by our lifeguards and sportsmen and women who continue to push themselves in the sport and who give of their time voluntarily to keep our beaches, pools and public swimming areas safe," said Tommy, who was also nominated as one of the three finalists for Administrator of the Year.

"Lifesaving plays a very important role in South African communities and is the only sport that is focused around saving lives."

Tommy also thanked General Tire SA, the three-year investment and for recognising the role Lifesaving plays in society and also the standing it can have in the South African sporting environment.

"With investment from our new national sponsor General Tire, we have been able to elevate the sport of lifesaving in our country, allowing LSA to proudly stand on the podium with Netball SA and Surfing SA. The award is a credit to everyone involved in Lifesaving and recognition of those daily and on-going efforts," said Tommy.

Full list of winners:

Federation of the Year: Lifesaving SA

Administrator of the Year: Sanelisiwe Khuzwayo

School Team of the Year: St. Mary's School

Developing School Team of the Year: Hlangabeza Primary School (Under-13 Chess)

Indigenous Games Team of the Year award: North West Kho-Kho Team

Recreation Body of the Year: In-Touch Community Support Group

Photographer of the Year: Simphiwe Nkwali

Journalist of the Year: OG Molefe

Newcomer of the Year: Sokwakhana Zazini

Team of the Year: Springbok Sevens

Sportsman of the Year with a Disability: Dyan Buis

Volunteer of the Year: Samuel Maduwa

Coach of the Year: Jean Verster

Sportswomen of the Year with a Disability: Ilse Hayes

Sportsman of the Year: Luvo Manyonga

Sportswoman of the Year: Caster Semenya

People's Choice Sports Star of the Year: Caster Semenya

Sports Star of the Year: Luvo Manyonga

Read more on:    sa sports awards  |  lifesaving


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk
Breaking News


Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.