Other Sport

Kenyans triumph at Cape Town 12 One Run

2015-05-17 14:07
Kenya's Emmanuel Bett pips his compatriot Daniel Salel to the finish line at the FNB Cape Town 12 One Run. Picture: Sarel van der Walt/Beeld

Cape Town – Kenya clinched a double victory in the inaugural FNB Cape Town 12 One Run in the Mother City on Sunday.

Emmanuel Bett clocked a fast 33:32:00 while Vivian Cheruiyot claimed the women’s race in 38:22:00.

South Africa secured six places across the two categories in the top 10 with Elroy Gelant (fifth in 34:51:00) and Lebo Phalula (39:21:00 in third place) the first locals home.

The race – from Milnerton to the Cape Town CBD – was run in perfect conditions and on a flat course as was reflected by the quick times.

It was a close finish in the men’s race. Bett edged his compatriot Daniel Salel to the finishing tape by the slightest of margins.

The two led the pack that set the pace early on and broke through with 5km to go.

At that point, South Africans Gelant, Gladwin Mzazi and Joel Mmone were chasing a huge gap.

“I needed to press hard from the beginning because it was a strong field,” said Bett after claiming the R40 000 first prize purse, which was the same amount that was bagged by Olympic double medallist Cheruiyot.

Gelant said he was a bit worried coming into the race because he had hardly done any speed work.

He had just recovered from a hamstring injury but assured his followers he is fully recovered and he will run the 5000m at the IAAF World Challenge in Hengelo, Holland, next week, as well as the Diamond League in Eugene, United States, at the end of the month.

The top 10 men

Emmanuel Bett (Kenya) 33:32:00

Daniel Salel (Kenya) 33:32:00

Timothy Toroitich (Uganda) 33:48:00

Moses Kipsiro (Uganda) 34:31:00

Elroy Gelant (South Africa) 34:51:00

Gladwin Mzazi (South Africa) 34:59:00

Lucky Modike (South Africa) 35:27:00

Joel Mmone (South Africa) 35:36:00

Xolisa Tyali (South Africa) 35:39:00

Lungile Gonqa (South Africa) 35:39:00

The top 10 women

Vivian Cheruiyot (Kenya) 38:22:00

Yenenesh Tilahun (Ethiopia) 39:17:00

Lebo Phalula (South Africa) 39:21:00

Lebogang Phalula (South Africa) 39:34:00

Doris Changeywo (Kenya) 39:48:00

Rutendo Nyahora (Zimbabwe) 40:16:00

Nolene Conrad (South Africa) 40:29:00)

Zintle Xiniwe (South Africa) 41:23:00

Christine Kalmer (South Africa) 41:36:00

Lena Lotter (South Africa) 41:47:00

Read more on:    vivian cheruiyot

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
1 comment
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Floyd 'Money' Mayweather v Conor 'The Notorious' McGregor ... who've you got in Saturday's mega fight?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.