IAAF World Championships

Wayde obliterates opposition and cruises to 400m gold

2017-08-08 23:02
Wayde van Niekerk (Getty Images)

London - South African Wayde van Niekerk got his bid for an audacious 200/400m double off to a flying start when he defended his one-lap title on Tuesday.

Van Niekerk, who also set the world record when winning Olympic gold in Rio last year, was in imperious form, running a devastating final bend to finish in 43.98 seconds, easing up a full 15 metres from the line.

Steven Gardiner of the Bahamas claimed silver in 44.41sec, with Sudan-born Qatari Abdalelah Haroun taking bronze (44.48).

"It's an amazing blessing," said Van Niekerk, whom Usain Bolt has pegged as his most likely successor as the athlete capable of dominating the track after the Jamaican sprint star's exit from athletics after these world champs.

"I've got a good team that will help me recover after this and I'll be back tomorrow."

There was drama before the race, however, as the IAAF barred in-form Botswanan Isaac Makwala from competing after he was diagnosed with an infectious disease and ordered to observe a 48-hour quarantine.

That did not stop Makwala trying to get into the stadium before being refused entry.

"The IAAF is very sorry that the hard work and talent of Isaac Makwala won't be on display tonight but we have to think of the welfare of all athletes," world athletics' governing body said in a statement.

And so Van Niekerk now turns to the 200m, in which neither Bolt nor the world's fastest man this season, Makwala, are running.

Should Van Niekerk bag the double, it would be the first since American Michael Johnson achieved the feat at the 1995 worlds in Gothenburg and a year later at the Atlanta Olympics.

IAAF World Championships finals results on Tuesday:



1. Wayde van Niekerk (RSA) 43.98

2. Steven Gardiner (BAH) 44.41

3. Abdalelah Haroun (QAT) 44.48

4. Baboloki Thebe (BOT) 44.66

5. Nathon Allen (JAM) 44.88

6. Demish Gaye (JAM) 45.04

7. Fred Kerley (USA) 45.23

DNS: Isaac Makwala (BOT)


1. Pierre-Amboise Bosse (FRA) 1:44.67

2. Adam Kszczot (POL) 1:44.95

3. Kipyegon Bett (KEN) 1:45.21

4. Kyle Langford (GBR) 1:45.25

5. Nijel Amos (BOT) 1:45.83

6. Mohammed Aman (ETH) 1:46.06

7. Thiago Andre (BRA) 1:46.30

8. Brandon McBride (CAN) 1:47.09

3 000m steeplechase

1. Conseslus Kipruto (KEN) 8:14.12

2. Soufiane Elbakkali (MAR) 8:14.49

3. Evan Jager (USA) 8:15.53

4. Mahiedine Mekhissi (FRA) 8:15.80

5. Stanley Kebenei (USA) 8:21.09

6. Matthew Hughes (CAN) 8:21.84

7. Tesfaye Deriba (ETH) 8:22.12

8. Tafese Seboka (ETH) 8:23.02

9. Getnet Wale (ETH) 8:25.28

10. Albert Chemutai (UGA) 8:25.94

Pole vault

1. Sam Hendricks (USA) 5.95

2. Piotr Lisek (POL) 5.89

3. Renaud Lavillenie (FRA) 5.89

4. Changrui Xue (CHN) 5.82

5. Pawel Wojciechowski (POL) 5.75

6. Axel Chapelle (FRA) 5.65

7. Kurtis Marschall (AUS) 5.65

8. Shawnacy Barber (CAN) 5.65

9. Armand Duplantis (SWE) 5.50

No mark: Arnaud Art (BEL); Rapahel Holzdeppe (GER)



1. Barbora Spotakova (CZE) 66.76

2. Lingwei Li (CHN) 66.25

3. Huihui Lyu (CHN) 65.26

4. Sara Kolak (CRO) 64.95

5. Eda Tugsuz (TUR) 64.52

6. Tatsiana Khaladovich (BLR) 64.05

7. Katharina Molitor (GER) 63.75

8. Shiying Liu (CHN) 62.84


Read News24’s Comments Policy


How should the 2019/20 English Premier League title race be resolved?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.