IAAF World Championships

Flying Dutchwoman Schippers defends 200m title

2017-08-11 23:48
getty images, dafne schippers, athletics
Dafne Schippers (Getty Images)

London - Dafne Schippers successfully defended her 200 metres world title on Friday in a thrilling final.

The 25-year-old Dutchwoman, who took bronze in the 100m, timed a season's best 22.05 seconds and joins greats Allyson Felix and Merlene Ottey in winning the world title more than once.

Ivory Coast's Marie Josee Ta Lou had to settle for a second sprint silver in a matter of days, timing a national record of 22.08 seconds, with Bahamas Shaunae Miller-Uibo finishing third in 22.15 seconds.

Schippers, who took silver in the event in last year's Olympics, stormed off the bend well up on Ta Lou with Britain's Dina Asher-Smith showing well in third in the outside lane.

However, Ta Lou - diminutive beside the statuesque Schippers - clawed back the metres between her and the Dutchwoman whilst Bailey-Uibo also made up ground in the final 50 metres.

Schippers, though, just hit the line a tad ahead of Ta Lou with Bailey-Uibo gaining some compensation for missing out on a medal in the 400m - a dramatic collapse seeing her go from first to fourth in the final 20m - by edging past Asher-Smith.

IAAF World Championships finals results on Friday:



1. Pawel Fadjek (POL) 79.81 metres

2. Valeriy Pronkin (ANA - neutral) 78.16

3. Wojciech Nowicki (POL) 78.03

4. Quentin Bigot (FRA) 77.67

5. Aleksei Sokyrskii (ANA - neutral) 77.50

6. Nick Miller (GBR) 77.31

7. Dilshod Nazarov (TJK) 77.22

8. Serghei Marghiev (MDA) 75.87



1. Dafne Schippers (NED) 22.05sec

2. Marie-Josee Ta Lou (CIV) 22.08

3. Shaunae Miller-Uibo (BAH) 22.15

4. Dina Asher-Smith (GBR) 22.22

5. Deajah Stevens (USA) 22.44

6. Kimberlyn Duncan (USA) 22.59

7. Crystal Emmanuel (CAN) 22.60

8. Tynia Gaither (BAH) 23.07

3000m steeplechase

1. Emma Coburn (USA) 9min 02.58sec

2. Courtney Frerichs (USA) 9:03.77

3. Hyvin Kiyeng Jepkemoi (KEN) 9:04.03

4. Beatrice Chepkoech (KEN) 9:10.45

5. Ruth Jebet (BRN) 9:13.96

6. Celliphine Chespol (KEN) 9:15.04

7. Etenesh Diro (ETH) 9:22.46

8. Winfred Yavi (BRN) 9:22.46

9. Gesa Krause (GER) 9:23.87

10. Purity Kirui (KEN) 9:25.62

Long jump

1. Brittney Reese (USA) 7.02 metres

2. Darya Klishina (ANA - neutral) 7.00

3. Tianna Bartoletta (USA) 6.97

4. Ivana Spanovic (SRB) 6.96

5. Lorraine Ugen (GBR) 6.72

6. Brooke Stratton (AUS) 6.67

7. Chantel Malone (IVB) 6.57

8. Blessing Okagbare-Ighoteguonor (NGR) 6.55

Read more on:    iaaf world championship  |  athletics


Read News24’s Comments Policy


How should the 2019/20 English Premier League title race be resolved?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.