IAAF World Championships

Bahrain's Rose Chelimo wins women's world marathon

2017-08-06 18:35
Runners (AFP Photo)

London - Kenyan-born Bahraini Rose Chelimo edged veteran Edna Kiplagat to win the women's marathon at the IAAF World Championships on Sunday.

Kiplagat hit 40km a second ahead, but Chelimo kicked in the last 2km to win Bahrain's first medal in the event in 2hr 27min 11sec.

Kiplagat, a two-time previous champion in 2011 and 2013, claimed silver seven seconds adrift, with American Amy Cragg taking bronze.

"I was not expecting to win," said Chelimo, who transferred allegiance to Bahrain in 2015.

"I tried my best and I managed to become the world champion.

"Edna Kiplagat is strong. At 35km I pushed, after some time Edna came and I said to myself 'let her go', I already accepted to be second. But then I caught her, I was encouraged and thought 'maybe I can try' and I succeeded."

Kiplagat acknowledged that the final run-in was "the most difficult".

"All the way I worked so hard, so the last 3km was too long for me and slightly uphill. I think I was too tired after the previous sprints," the 37-year-old said.

"Hopefully my body will get stronger and I keep training so I can come back and go for a major gold again.

Cragg said it felt "crazy" to have medalled.

"My coach has been putting it my head that this is a potential medal and something I can do," she said.

South Africa's Mapaseka Makhanya finished in 40th with a time of 2:40.15, her season's best while Jenna Challenor finished in 59th place in 2:47.22, her best run this season.

IAAF World Championships finals results on Sunday:



1. Geoffrey Kipror Kirui (KEN) 2hr 08min 27sec

2. Tamirat Tola (ETH) 2:09:49

3. Alphonce Simbu (TAN) 2:09:51

4. Callum Hawkins (GBR) 2:10:17

5. Gideon Kipkemoi Kipketer (KEN) 2:10:56

6. Daniele Meucii (ITA) 2:10:56

7. Yohanes Ghebregergis (ERI) 2:12:07

8. Daniel Wanjiru (KEN) 2:12:16

9. Yuki Kawauchi (JPN) 2:12:19

10. Kentaro Nakomoto (JPN) 2:12:41



1. Rose Chelimo (BRN) 2hr 27min 11sec

2. Edna Kiplagat (KEN) 2:27:18

3. Amy Cragg (USA) 2:27:18

4. Flomena Daniel (KEN) 2:27:21

5. Shure Demise (ETH) 2:27:58

6. Eunice Kirwa (BRN) 2:28:17

7. Helah Kiprop (KEN) 2:28:19

8. Mare Dibaba (ETH) 2:28:49

9. Jessica Trengove (AUS) 2:28:59

10. Berhane Dibaba (ETH) 2:29:01

Read more on:    iaaf world championships  |  running


Read News24’s Comments Policy


How should the 2019/20 English Premier League title race be resolved?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.