Other Sport

Auroras Encore wins National

2013-04-06 18:00
Ryan Mania on Encore (AFP)

Liverpool - Ryan Mania won on his first ride in the Grand National here on Saturday just two years after giving up riding as he guided outsider Auroras Encore to a shock victory at Aintree racecourse.

The Scottish jockey gave a perfect ride to the 66/1 chance - trained by Sue Smith wife of former leading showjumper Harvey - who beat home Welsh duo Cappa Bleu (12/1) and Teaforthree (10/1) while the 2011 runner-up Oscar Time was fourth.

Auroras Encore was a local win as one of the three owners Jim Beaumont is Liverpool-born and started his working life as a bellboy in the upmarket Adelphi Hotel.

Mania seized his chance when Teaforthree hit the last after looking set to give Wales their first win in the race since Kirkland in 1905.

He was never in trouble after that as Cappa Bleu, fourth last year, ran on to rob Teaforthree of second while Cheltenham Gold Cup winning amateur rider Sam Waley-Cohen produced another fantastic ride to take fourth.

"He gave me a dream ride, he's brilliant. I had the choice of two horses to ride, I wasn't sure which one to go for," said Mania.

"He loved every second of it, just class - he was second in the Scottish National last season. He made a couple of little mistakes then learned from them."

Grand National winners this century after Saturday's renewal of the 4 1/2 mile race over 30 fences at Aintree racecourse (year, horse, age, jockey, trainer, owner, odds):

2013: Auroras Encore 11 Ryan Mania Sue Smith Jim Beaumont 66/1

2012: Neptune Collonges 11 Daryl Jacob Paul Nicholls John Hales 33/1

2011: Ballabriggs 10 Jason Maguire Donald McCain Trevor Hemmings 14/1

2010: Don't Push It 10 Tony McCoy Jonjo O'Neill JP McManus 10/1

2009: Mon Mome 9 Liam Treadwell Venetia Williams Vida Bingham 100/1

2008: Comply or Die 9 Timmy Murphy David Pipe David Johnson 7-1

2007: Silver Birch 10 Robbie Power Gordon Elliott (IRL) Brian Walsh 33/1

2006: Numbersixvalverde 10 Niall Madden Martin Brassil (IRL) Bernard Carroll 11/1

2005: Hedgehunter 9 Ruby Walsh Willie Mullins (IRL) Trevor Hemmings 7/1

2004: Amberleigh House 12 Graham Lee Ginger McCain Halewood Int. Ltd 16/1

2003: Monty's Pass 10 Barry Geraghty Jimmy Mangan (IRL) Dee Racing Syn 16/1

2002: Bindaree 8 Jim Culloty Nigel Twiston-Davies Raymond Mould 20/1

2001: Red Marauder 11 Richard Guest Norman Mason Norman Mason 33/1

2000: Papillon 9 Ruby Walsh Ted Walsh (IRL) Betty Moran 10/1

Read more on:    horseracing

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Floyd 'Money' Mayweather v Conor 'The Notorious' McGregor ... who've you got in Saturday's mega fight?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.