Schachmann wins shortened Paris-Nice cycling race

2020-03-14 16:11
Maximilian Schachmann
Maximilian Schachmann (AFP)

Germany's Maximilian Schachmann of the Bora-Hansgrohe team won the Paris-Nice cycling race on Saturday, holding on in a frantic climb to a summit finish where he fell to the ground exhausted.

The race was one of the rare sporting events to escape postponement due to the coronavirus pandemic, until the final stage to south coast city Nice set for Sunday was cancelled.

France's next major cycling race is the one-day classic Paris-Roubaix set for April 12, but there is serious doubt this will go ahead given the massive crowds it attracts.

There are also fears for the one-week Criterium de Dauphine, run through the Alps in early June, and even the Tour de France itself, given the COVID-19 crisis in France.

Schachmann, who won the opening stage in a cross-wind on the plains outside Paris last Sunday, tightened his grip in the time-trial on Wednesday before clinging on during a 16km climb and summit finish on Saturday.

"The last three kilometres were hell, but now I'm in heaven. This is the greatest victory of my life," said Schachmann.

"This is just the beginning, my dream has always been to become a GC rider," he said in reference to the elite group who contest overall victory in cycling tours.

He won overall by 18 seconds from Belgium's Tiesj Benoot with Colombian rookie Sergio Higuita in third at 59sec.

Pre-race favourite, Colombian climber Nairo Quintana, fell on day one but took this seventh and final stage of the 'Race to the Sun' after a lightning attack earned him a solo win for his new team Arkea-Samsic.

Seventh-stage results

1. Nairo Quintana (COL/Arkea-Samsic) 166.5 km in 4hrs 27min 01sec, 2. Tiesj Benoot (BEL/SUN) at 46sec, 3. Thibaut Pinot (FRA/FDJ) 56, 4. Sergio Higuita (COL/EF1) 56, 5. Vincenzo Nibali (ITA/TRE) s.t., 6. Maximilian Schachmann (GER/BOR) 58, 7. Guillaume Martin (FRA/COF) 1:19, 8. Tanel Kangert (EST/EF1) 1:2, 9. Romain Bardet (FRA/ALM) 1:32, 10. Rudy Molard (FRA/ALM) 1:32

Final overall standings

1. Maximilian Schachmann (GER/Bora) 27hrs 14min 23sec, 2. Tiesj Benoot (BEL/SUN) at 18sec, 3. Sergio Higuita (COL/EF1) 59, 4. Vincenzo Nibali (ITA/TRE) 1:16, 5. Thibaut Pinot (FRA/FDJ) 1:24, 6. Nairo Quintana (COL/ARK) 1:30, 7. Rudy Molard (FRA/FDJ) 2:03, 8. Tanel Kangert (EST/EF1) 2:16, 9. Felix Grossschartner (AUT/BOR) 3:39, 10. Soeren Kragh Andersen (DEN/SUN) 4:36


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.