Mohoric wins Giro 10th stage, Yates retains pink jersey

2018-05-15 18:38

Gualdo Tadino - Matej Mohoric beat Nico Denz in a two-man sprint finish to win the 10th stage of the Giro d'Italia on Tuesday as Briton Simon Yates maintained his grip on the overall race lead.

But Yates' Colombian team-mate Esteban Chaves had a disastrous day as he was distanced on the opening climb of the 244km stage from Penne to Gualdo Tadino and lost more than 25 minutes to drop out of overall contention having started the day second 32 seconds behind.

Chaves' woes are a major blow to the overall hopes of his Mitchelton-Scott team.

Going into Tuesday's stage they were in the enviable position of occupying the top two positions in the overall standings, meaning tactically they would be able to play two cards in the pink jersey race and increase the pressure on their rivals.

But once Chaves was distanced, the teams of overall hopefuls including four-time Tour de France winner Chris Froome, reigning champion Tom Dumoulin, local favourite Fabio Aru and French hope Thibaut Pinot, pushed the pace in the peloton to ensure the Colombian never regained contact.

Yates now leads by 41 seconds from Dumoulin with Pinot third at 46. Briton Froome, who crashed twice during the first week, is up to 10th at 2:30.

The fast pace set by the peloton meant that an initial 17-man breakaway was swallowed up with still 150km to ride.

Solo attempts by German Tony Martin and Italian Marco Frapporti proved futile until finally a late escape by Slovene Mohoric and German Denz stuck.

Their sprint to the line was fiercly contested but Mohoric had the strength to prevail.

Ireland's Sam Bennett won the sprint for third 36 seconds later.

Results from the 10th stage of the Giro d'Italia over 244km from Penne to Gualdo Tadino on Tuesday:

1. Matej Mohoric (SLO/BAH) 6hr 04min 52sec, 2. Nico Denz (GER/ALM) same time, 3. Sam Bennett (IRL/BOR) at 34sec, 4. Enrico Battaglin (ITA/LNL) s.t., 5. Davide Ballerini (ITA/AND) s.t., 6. Mads Schmidt (DEN/KAT) s.t., 7. Francesco Gavazzi (ITA/AND) s.t., 8. Jarlinson Pantano (COL/TRE) s.t., 9. Gianluca Brambilla (ITA/TRE) s.t., 10. Jose Goncalves (POR/KAT) s.t.

Selected others:

15. Chris Froome (GBR/SKY) s.t., 16. Richard Carapaz (ECU/MOV) s.t., 17. Simon Yates (GBR/MIT) s.t., 18. Tom Dumoulin (NED/SUN) s.t.


1. Simon Yates (GBR/Mitchelton) 43hr 42min 38sec, 2. Tom Dumoulin (NED/SUN) at 41sec, 3. Thibaut Pinot (FRA/FDJ) 46, 4. Domenico Pozzovivo (ITA/BAH) 1:00, 5. Richard Carapaz (ECU/MOV) 1:23, 6. George Bennett (NZL/LNL) 1:36, 7. Rohan Dennis (AUS/BMC) 2:08, 8. Pello Bilbao (ESP/AST) 2:08, 9. Michael Woods (CAN/EFD) 2:28, 10. Chris Froome (GBR/SKY) 2:30

Read more on:    giro d'italia  |  cycling


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.