Ireland's Sam Bennett storms Criterium sprint

2019-06-11 18:04
Sam Bennett
Sam Bennett (Getty Images)

Riom - Irish speed king Sam Bennett left rival sprinters reeling on Tuesday, timing his mass bunch sprint effort to perfection to win the pancake flat 171km third stage of the Criterium du Dauphine by a clear margin.

The 28-year-old Bora-hangrohe sprinter has been on sparkling form this season picking up seven stage victories including two at Paris-Nice and making his case for inclusion in the Tour de France team, which is still far from certain.

"I'm the man to beat now so it's  more complicated when the other guys are all keeping an eye on you," Bennett said.

"I waited until the last minute but even then I thought maybe I'd gone too soon, but the legs held out."

The Criterium overall leader Belgium's Dylan Teuns of Bahrein Merida kept the yellow jersey as all the main contenders such as Chris Froome, Adam Yates and Richie Porte finished at the same time.

Ahead of a challenging individual time-trial which will reset the agenda on Wednesday, Tuesday's stage was the only flat one on the eight-day Criterium, which is seen as a form gauge for July's Tour de France.

The Eritrean rider Natnael Berhane and Frenchman Quentin Pacher led a long breakaway through the rolling green fields around the Puy-de-Dome region but were caught up with around five kilometres to go.

That set up a classic mass bunch sprint where Bennett came out ahead of Belgian Wout Van Aert and the Italian Davide Ballerini.

Results after Tuesday's third stage of the Criterium du Dauphine over 171km from Puy-en-Velay to Riom:

Stage 3

1. Sam Bennett (IRL/Bora) 4hr 15min 25sec, 2. Wout Van Aert (BEL/JUM) same time, 3. Davide Ballerini (ITA/AST) s.t., 4. Clement Venturini (FRA/ALM) s.t., 5. Edward Theuns (BEL/TRE) s.t., 6. Edvald Boasson Hagen (NOR/DDT) s.t., 7. Alvaro Hodeg (COL/DEC) s.t., 8. Jens Debusschere (BEL/KAT) s.t., 9. Luka Mezgec (SLO/MIT) s.t., 10. Bjorg Lambrecht (BEL/LOT) s.t.


1. Dylan Teuns (BEL/Bahrain) 11hr 52min 28sec, 2. Guillaume Martin (FRA/WGG) at 3sec, 3. Alexey Lutsenko (KAZ/AST) 20, 4. Jakob Fuglsang (DEN/AST) 20, 5. Nairo Quintana (COL/MOV) 24, 6. Thibaut Pinot (FRA/FDJ) 24, 7. Michael Woods (CAN/EF1) 24, 8. Chris Froome (GBR/INE) 24, 9. Wout Poels (NED/INE) 24, 10. Adam Yates (GBR/MIT) 24, 11. Philippe Gilbert (BEL/DEC) 49, 12. Rudy Molard (FRA/FDJ) 55, 13. Emanuel Buchmann (GER/BOR) 55, 14. Tejay Van Garderen (USA/EF1) 55, 15. Romain Bardet (FRA/ALM) 55, 16. Richie Porte (AUS/TRE) 55, 17. Dan Martin (IRL/UAE) 55, 18. Steven Kruijswijk (NED/JUM) 

Read more on:    criterium du dauphine  |  cycling


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.