Ireland's Bennett wins Paris-Nice Stage 3

2019-03-12 19:08
Sam Bennett
Sam Bennett (Getty Images)

Paris - Irish sprinter Sam Bennett of the Bora team emerged victorious from an epic sprint finish on a long home straight at Moulins/Yzeure on Tuesday's stage three of the Paris-Nice cycling race.

Winner of the past two stages, flying Dutchman Dylan Groenewegen looked to be on his way to a third straight win and while ultimately he could not keep pace with Bennett, the Jumbo rider kept the overall leader's yellow jersey.

Fabio Jakobsen was third ahead of Briton Dan McLay in fourth with French sprinter Bryan Coquard fifth.

Bennett came to prominence at last season's Giro where he won three stages and the powerful Bora man was unstoppable once in front, leaving Australia's Caleb Ewan grimacing in second.

"I knew that the form was there and that I just had to keep on trying. Today the legs were a lot better, it was an easier day but I’m starting to get a bit more used to the cold," said Bennett.

"It's nice to come back here and win again," he said, referring to a stage win here in 2017.

Mark Cavendish pulled out of the strength-sapping windswept stage on Monday and the entire peloton appeared to be weary on a day when the average speed was a slow 38kph.

There were again several crashes and retirements after two brutal days and Tuesday's most notable victim was Italy's 2015 Vuelta champion Fabio Aru.

With 18km to race, Sky duo Egan Bernal and Michal Kwiatkowski made a concerted bid to get away, but the sprinters' teams galvanised a catch-up posse to set up the first real bunch sprint on the eight-day race.

Bernal picked up bonus seconds again in the intermediate sprint and is top of the white jersey rankings and a strong bet for overall victory in Nice with only a handful of seconds separating the top spots.

Wednesday's stage four features four climbs in the final section and ends at Pelussin in the Loire region.

Stage 3

1. Sam Bennett (IRL/Bora) 5hrs 16min 25sec, 2. Caleb Ewan (AUS/LOT) same time, 3. Fabio Jakobsen (NED/DEC) s.t., 4. Dan McLay (GBR/) s.t., 5. Bryan Coquard (FRA/VIT) s.t., 6. Niccolo Bonifazio (ITA/DEN) s.t., 7. Alexander Kristoff (NOR/UAE) s.t., 8. Arnaud Demare (FRA/FDJ) s.t., 9. Dylan Groenewegen (NED/JUM) s.t., 10. Edward Theuns (BEL/TRE) s.t.

Overall standings

1. Dylan Groenewegen (NED/Jumbo) 11hrs 47min 44sec, 2. Michal Kwiatkowski (POL/SKY) at 06sec, 3. Luis Leon Sanchez (ESP/AST) 11, 4. Philippe Gilbert (BEL/DEC) 16, 5. Egan Bernal (COL/SKY) 17. 6. Matteo Trentin (ITA/MIT) 20, 7. Tony Gallopin (FRA/ALM) 21, 8. Rudy Molard (FRA/FDJ) 23, 9. Romain Bardet (FRA/ALM) 23, 10. Oliver Naesen (BEL/ALM) 24.

Read more on:    paris-nice race  |  sam bennett  |  cycling


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.