Geniez wins 12th stage as Herrada takes Tour of Spain lead

2018-09-06 17:59
Cycling (File)

Madrid - France's Alexandre Geniez edged a tight final sprint to win stage 12 of the Tour of Spain on Thursday as Britain's Simon Yates surrendered the leader's red jersey to Spaniard Jesus Herrada.

A dramatic last 10 kilometres reached its climax when Geniez, of the AG2R team, held off a late push for the line from Team Skys Dylan van Baarle, with Mark Padun of Bahrain-Merida coming in third.

Mitchelton's Yates, who had worn the red jersey since stage nine, drops to second in the general classification after Herrada (Cofidis) formed part of an 18-strong breakaway group during the climb of Alto de Cadeira.

Together with Movistar pair Alejandro Valverde and Nairo Quintana -- who are also fighting for overall honours -- Yates allowed the gap to exceed 11 minutes and when they finally made their move, it was too late.

At the end of a twisting route between Mondonedo and Manon, Herrada leads Yates by three minutes and 22 seconds, with Valverde one second further back in third.

"It is hard to believe," Herrada said. "In the end to take the lead is a dream, I couldn't challenge for the stage because I was exhausted but it is reward for the work we have been doing for a long time.

"I don't think about the podium now but I'll take it day by day and at least we have achieved this."

It was Geniez's third stage win at the 'Vuelta', after previous triumphs in 2013 and 2016.

"It's a relief," Geniez said. "The pleasure of winning is days like these when we just ride a bike after training hard and making sacrifices all year long.

"We attacked a lot towards the end of the stage. There was nothing in it on the line. It was a very special sprint."

The race will continue on Friday with the 13th stage, stretching 174.8km between the town of Candas and La Camperona.

Results from the 12th stage of the Tour of Spain, a 181.1km ride from Mondonedo to Manon on Thursday:


1. Alexandre Geniez (FRA/ALM) 4hr 22min 59sec, 2. Dylan van Baarle (NED/SKY) s.t., 3. Mark Padun (UKR/BAH) s.t., 4. Dylan Teuns (BEL/BMC) s.t., 5. Victor Campenaerts (BEL/LOT) at 2sec, 6. Davide Formolo (ITA/BOR) 5, 7. Gianluca Brambilla (ITA/TRE) 24, 8. Dries Devenyns (BEL/QST) 48, 9. Thomas De Gendt (BEL/LOT) 2:27, 10. Valerio Conti (ITA/EAU) 2:29.

Overall standings

1. Jesus Herrada (SPA/COF) 50hr 28min 56sec, 2. Simon Yates (GBR/MIT) at 3min 22sec, 3. Alejandro Valverde (ESP/MOV) 3:23, 4. Nairo Quintana (COL/MOV) 3:36, 5. Ion Izagirre (ESP/BAH) 3:39, 6. Tony Gallopin (FRA/ALM) 3:46, 7. Emanuel Buchmann (GER/BOR) s.t., 8. Miguel Angel Lopez (COL/AST) 3:49, 9. Rigoberto Uran (COL/EFD) 3:54, 10. Steven Kruijswijk (NED/LNL) 4:05.

Read more on:    vuelta e espana  |  cycling


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.