Sky's Bernal wins Tour of California crown

2018-05-19 23:27
Egan Bernal (Getty Images)
Egan Bernal (Getty Images)

Los Angeles - Team Sky's Egan Bernal won the Tour of California on Saturday, holding the lead he seized in the mountains through a sprinters showcase final stage in state capital Sacramento.

The 21-year-old Colombian, the first rider from his homeland to win the event, finished in a total time of 25 hours 34 minutes and 19 seconds to defeat American Tejay van Garderen of BMC Racing by 85 seconds, the second-biggest win margin in the event's 13-year history.

Another Colombian, Fernando Gaviria of Quick-Step, won a photo finish at the line with Germany's Max Walschied of Sunweb to claim the stage seven victory in 3:07:09.

It was a hat-trick for Gaviria, his third stage triumph after taking the first and fifth.

Australian rider Caleb Ewen of Mitchelton was third in the stage with Slovakian Peter Sagan of Bora fourth in the final sprint.

Bernal edged Ewen 45-42 in the points competition.

Bernal, a runner-up in last month's Tour of Romandie, won Monday's second stage and also captured Friday's penultimate stage to overtake van Garderen.

The South American seized his final victory margin and Team Sky dominated the front of the peloton on Saturday, keeping Bernal's lead from being threatened in the 143km final flat stage.

Colombian Daniel Martinez of Education First was third overall, 2:14 off the pace, with Britain's Adam Yates of Mitchelton fourth, another two seconds adrift, and British Sky rider Tao Geoghegan Hart fifth, 2:28 back.

Top finishers and final standings after Friday's seventh and last stage of the Tour of California, 143km in Sacramento:

Stage 7

1. Fernando Gaviria (COL/QuickStep) 3hrs 7mins 9secs, 2. Max Walscheid (GER/Sunweb) same time, 3. Caleb Ewan (AUS/Mitchelton) s.t., 4. Peter Sagan (SVK/Bora) s.t., 5. Miguel Bryon (USA/Holowesko) s.t., 6. Alexander Kristoff (NOR/TeamEmirates) s.t., 7. Michael Rice (AUS/Hagens) s.t., 8. Ty Magner (USA/Rally) s.t., 9. Daniel McLay (GBR/EducationFirst) s.t., 10. Kiel Reijnen (USA/Trek) s.t.

Overall final standings

1. Egan Bernal (COL/TeamSky) 25hr 34min 19sec, 2. Tejay Van Garderen (USA/BMC) at 1:25, 3. Daniel Martínez (COL/EF-Drapac) 2:14, 4. Adam Yates (GBR/Mitchelton) 2:16, 5. Tao Geoghegan Hart (GBR/TeamSky) 2:28, 6. Rafal Majka (POL/Bora) 3:01, 7. Brandon McNulty (USA/Rally) 3:28, 8. Laurens De Plus (BEL/Quick-Step) 3:50, 9. Kristijan Durasek (CRO/TeamEmirates) 3:59, 10. Mathias Frank (SUI/AG2R-Mondiale) 4:01

Read more on:    egan bernal  |  cycling


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.