Viviani takes Dauphine stage 2

2013-06-03 18:03
Elia Viviani (AFP)
Oyannax - Italian rider Elia Viviani won the second stage of the Dauphine Libere race in a sprint finish Monday, and David Veilleux of Canada retained the overall lead.

Viviani held off Gianni Meersman of Belgium and Tony Gallopin of France, clocking 4 hours, 39 minutes, 15 seconds over the 191-kilometre ride from the French Alpine village of Chatel to Oyonnax in eastern France.

Four riders broke away from the main pack shortly after the start: French trio Thomas Damuseau, Arnaud Gerard and Rudy Molard and Portuguese rider Jose Mendes. Molard lasted the longest, eventually being caught about 15 kilometres out.

Viviani attacked a little more than 2 kilometres from the line.

Veilleux keeps the yellow jersey, leading by 1:56 overall from Meersman and 1:57 from Gallopin.

Results from the second stage of the Criterium du Dauphine over 191km from Chatel to Oyonnax on Monday:


1. Elia Viviani (ITA/CAN) 4hr 39min 15sec, 2. Gianni Meersman (BEL/OPQ) same time, 3. Tony Gallopin (FRA/RSH) s.t., 4. Reinardt Janse Van Rensburg (RSA/ARG) s.t., 5. Anthony Geslin (FRA/FDJ) s.t., 6. Armindo Fonseca (FRA/BSC) s.t., 7. Bram Tankink (NED/BLA) s.t., 8. Warren Barguil (FRA/ARG) s.t., 9. Juan Antonio Flecha (ESP/VAC) s.t., 10. Wesley Sulzberger (AUS/ORI) s.t., 11. Geraint Thomas (GBR/SKY) s.t., 12. Daniel Moreno (ESP/KAT) s.t., 13. Alejandro Valverde (ESP/MOV) s.t., 14. Paul Voss (GER/APP) s.t., 15. Luis ngel Mat (ESP/COF) s.t.

Selected others:

23. Chris Froome (GBR/SKY) s.t., 27. Richie Porte (AUS/SKY) s.t., 34. Alberto Contador (ESP/SAX) s.t., 38. Samuel Sanchez (ESP/EUS) s.t., 43. Joaquim Rodriguez (ESP/KAT) s.t., 55. Damiano Cunego (ITA/LAM) s.t., 62. David Veilleux (CAN/EUC) s.t.

Overall standings

1. David Veilleux (CAN/EUC) 7h56:50, 2. Gianni Meersman (BEL/OPQ) 1:56, 3. Tony Gallopin (FRA/RSH) 1:57, 4. Warren Barguil (FRA/ARG) s.t., 5. Alejandro Valverde (ESP/MOV) s.t., 6. Jakob Fuglsang (DEN/AST) s.t., 7. Chris Froome (GBR/SKY) s.t., 8. Richie Porte (AUS/SKY) s.t., 9. Angel Madrazo (ESP/MOV) s.t., 10. Geraint Thomas (GBR/SKY) s.t., 11. Jrgen Van den Broeck (BEL/LTB) s.t., 12. Thomas Rohregger (AUT/RSH) s.t., 13. Dominik Nerz (GER/BMC) s.t., 14. Alberto Contador (ESP/SAX) s.t., 15. Christophe Le Mvel (FRA/COF) s.t.

Selected others:

18. Samuel Sanchez (ESP/EUS) s.t., 27. Joaquim Rodriguez (ESP/KAT) s.t., 65. Damiano Cunego (ITA/LAM) 2:38

Read more on:    criterium du dauphine  |  cycling

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.