Two in a row for Meersman

2013-03-19 19:06
Gianni Meersman (AFP)

Madrid - Belgian rider Gianni Meersman retained the overall lead in the Tour of Catalonia after making it two stages wins in as many days on Tuesday.

The 27-year-old beat home Italian Daniele Ratto and Brett Lancaster of Australia in a sprint finish to the 160.7km ride from Girona to Banyuls.

Meersman sits atop the overall standings, 16sec ahead of Spain's Alejandro Valverde with Swiss Danilo Wyss a further four second adrift.

Meersman benefited from a crash on the final bend which saw several contenders for the stage win come to grief or being hindered so badly they had no chance of recovering.

On Wednesday the overall favourites for the title such as Tour de France champion Bradley Wiggins should come to the fore as the riders face their first tough challenge with the 180km ride climaxing at the ski station of Vallter 2000.

Results on Tuesday from the second stage of the Volta a Catalunya, a 160.7km leg from Girona to Banyoles:

1. Gianni Meersman, Belgium, Omega Pharma-Quick-Step, 3 hours, 47 minutes, 43 seconds.
2. Daniele Ratto, Italy, Cannondale, same time.
3. Brett Lancaster, Australia, Orica Greenedge, same time.
4. Samuel Dumolin, France, AG2R La Mondiale, same time.
5. Robert Wagner, Germany, Blanco Pro Cycling, same time.
6. Julien Simon, France, Sojasun, same time.
7. Maurits Lammertink, Netherlands, Vacansoliel-DCM, same time.
8. Laurent Pichon, France, FDJ, same time.
9. Danilo Wyss, Switzerland, BMC Racing, same time.
10. Manuele Mori, Italy, Lampre-Merida, same time.

Overall Standings (equals) (After 2 of 7 stages):

1. Gianni Meersman, Belgium, Omega Pharma-Quick-Step, 7:43.32.
2. Valerio Agnoli, Italy, Astana, 14 seconds behind.
3. Alejandro Valverde, Spain, Movistar, .02.
4. Danilo Wyss, Switzerland, BMC Racing, .06.
5. Robert Gesink, Netherlands, Blanco Pro Cycling, same time.
6. Dario Cataldo, Italy, Sky Procycling, same time.
7. David Lopez, Spain, Sky Procycling, same time.
8. Bradley Wiggins, Britain, Sky Procycling, same time.
9. Jesus Herrada, Spain, Movistar, same time.
10. Daniel Martin, Ireland, Garmin-Sharp, same time.

Read more on:    tour of catalonia  |  cycling

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.