Talansky takes Paris-Nice lead

2013-03-06 17:53
Andrew Talansky (AFP)

Brioude - American rider Andrew Talansky of the Garmin team won the third stage of the Paris-Nice on Wednesday and took the overall lead after a six-man breakaway held off the peloton following 170.5km between Chatel-Guyon and Brioude.

The 24-year-old Miami native edged out escape partners Davide Malacarne of Italy and Spaniard Gorka Izagirre on a wet afternoon as he picked up his biggest career win and also took the overall lead.

"We didn't take too many risks during the final descent and I stayed well on the wheel of Richie Porte," explained Talansky.

"From then on it was his teammate (Sky's David Lopez) who did the work. I wasn't looking to ride flat out and I wasn't thinking about the yellow jersey, I just wanted to avoid any problems and I really starting thinking about the stage victory during the final kilometre," he added.

"Paris-Nice is my first main objective of the season and I've been thinking about it since we starting training last November. I was targeting the top five but the podium is possible now."

Lopez of Spain, Australia's Richie Porte and French rider Romain Bardet also came home with the same time as Talansky while seventh-placed Andriy Grivko of the Ukraine is now second overall at 3secs.

Malacarne moves third overall on the same time with Sylvain Chavanel of France a further second adrift.

Italy's Elia Viviani, who began the stage in the leader's yellow jersey, was well distanced and lost nearly three minutes on a route unsuited to his sprinting talents.

Results following the third stage of the Paris-Nice, a 170.5km run from Chatel-Guyon to Brioude on Wednesday:


1. Andrew Talansky (USA/Garmin), 4hr 6min 15sec, 2. Davide Malacarne (ITA/EUC) s.t., 3. Gorka Izagirre (ESP/EUS) s.t., 4. David Lopez (ESP/SKY) s.t., 5. Richie Porte (AUS/SKY) s.t., 6. Romain Bardet (FRA/ALM) s.t., 7. Andriy Grivko (UKR/AST) s.t. 8. Jonathan Hivert (FRA/SOJ) at 7sec, 9. Enrico Gasparotto (ITA/AST) s.t, 10. Maxime Bouet (FRA/ALM) s.t.


1. Andrew Talansky (USA/Garmin) 14hr 39min 36sec, 2. Andriy Grivko (UKR/AST) at 3sec, 3. Davide Malacarne (ITA/EUC) s.t., 4. Sylvain Chavanel (FRA/OPQ) 4, 5. Gorka Izagirre (ESP/EUS) 5, 6. Lieuwe Westra (NED/VAC) 6, 7. Richie Porte (AUS/SKY) 7, 8. Peter Velits (SVK/OPQ) s.t., 9. David Lopez (ESP/SKY) 9, 10. Jonathan Hivert (FRA/SOJ) 12

Read more on:    paris-nice race  |  cycling

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.