South African Cycling

Hoffman reigns supreme in CT

2015-03-08 12:01
Nolan Hoffman (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - Nolan Hoffman (Team Abantu) has defended his Cape Town Cycle Tour title in superb fashion on Sunday, as he raced over the finish line in a time of one hour, one minute and 49 seconds (01:01:49) in this year's 47km 'Show You Care Solidarity Ride.'

Thousands of riders dressed in red to support those affected by the tragic fires burning on the mountains around Cape Town over the past week.

The shortened circular route was a celebration of Cape Town's fighting spirit and a salute to the Volunteer Wildfire Services, Sanparks Fire Fighting initiatives and other volunteers for their heroic efforts.

Hoffman held off stiff competition from silver medallist, Tyler Day (Team Westvaal) and third placed, Brenton Jones (Team Drapac).

International professional cyclists, Team Etixx-Quick Step's Mark Cavendish and main lead-out man, Mark Renshaw, competed in their first South African race, but could not outsprint Hoffman.

Ecstatic to hold off competition from top international and local riders to secure his second consecutive Cycle Tour win, Hoffman praised his "flawless" team.

"The week before the race, we dissected every kilometre from Hospital Bend so that we were well prepared," Hoffman said afterwards.

"Today we bided our time and stayed close to the front throughout the entire route."

"It was only 47km, but it was the hardest 47km. There was no place to recover, and before I knew it, there was another hill. The downhills were fast, and I was really concerned about Hospital Bend because I knew it was going to make for a really fast finish.

"I'm proud of the way the guys rode today -- they stuck to the tactic and executed it to perfection. My teammates were fantastic."

Meanwhile, Lynette Burger clinched the number one spot in the ladies category for the first time.

Race Results:


1. Nolan Hoffman (Team Abantu) (01:01:49)

2. Tyler Day (Team Westvaal) (01:01:49)

3. Brenton Jones (Team Drapac) (01:01:49)

4. Mark Renshaw (Team Etixx-Quick Step) (01:01:49)

5. Nino Schurter (Team Scott Sports) (01:01:50)


1. Lynette Burger (Team Activate Demacon) (01:17:52)

2. Cherise Stander (Team RECM) (01:17:52)

3. Maroesjka Matthee (Team BestMed ASG) (01:17:52)

4. Lise Olivier (01:17:53)

5. Yolandi du Toit (01:17:53)

Read more on:    cape town cycle tour  |  cape town  |  cycling

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.