Sauser, Kulhavy lead Epic

2013-03-21 15:43
Sauser, Kulhavy (Shaun Roy/Cape Epic/SPORTZPICS)
Cape Town - Christoph Sauser and Jaroslav Kulhavy of Burry Stander - SONGO showed their true form by winning Stage 4 of this year’s Absa Cape Epic in a time of 4:32.49,3 (overall 19:40.04,9).

This is Sauser’s 28th stage win in the history of the event.

They were followed by Marco Fontana and Manuel Fumic of Cannondale Factory Racing in 4:50.56,9 (overall 20:28.02,1).

In third place with their first podium finish this year were South Africans Philip Buys and Matthys Beukes (SCOTT Factory Racing) in 4:52.17,4 (overall 20:36.23,9).

The Bulls Karl Platt and Urs Huber, as well as Thomas Dietsch and Tim Boehme, finished in seventh and eighth place respectively after losing their way.
Sauser and Kulhavy (Burry Stander – SONGO) now lead the race by 13 minutes and 4 seconds (overall 19:40.04,9). The Bulls Karl Platt and Urs Huber are in second place overall (19:53.09,0) and the Bulls 2 team Thomas Dietsch and Tim Boehme in third overall (20:05.26,2).

Results and overall standings after the 120km fourth stage of the Cape Epic mountain bike race from Tulbach to Wellington.

1, C Sauser & J Kulhavy (Burry Stander Songo) 4h 32m 49.3s;
2, M Fontana & M Fumic (Cannondale Factory Racing) +18-07.6;
3, P Buys & M Beukes (Scott Factory) +19-28.1;
4, S Sahm & S Stiebjahn (Bulls 3) +19-59.9;
5, M Knox & K Yamamoto (Burry Stander Songo 2) +20-30.9; 6,
J Hermida & R van Houts (Multivan Merida) +21-53.2;
7, K Platt & U Huber (Bulls 1) +21-54.0;
8, T Dietsch & T Boehme (Bulls 2) +221-55.0;
9, H Becking & J Novak (Superior Brentjens) +22-49.7;
10, N Bell & G Combrink (Westvaal-Bells) +28-22.4

1, Sauser & J Kulhavy 19h 40m 04.9s;
2, K Platt & U Huber +13-04;
3, T Dietsch & T Boehme +25-20;
4, J Hermida & R van Houts +37-49;
5, M Fontana & M Fumic +47-57;
6, D Lill & C Keey (Cannondale Blend) +52.48;
7, P Buys & M Beukes +56.19;
8, S Sahm & S Stiebjahn +1-08-19;
9, H Becking & J Novak +1-10-01;
10, M Knox & K Yamamoto +1-18-59.

1, Y Speedy & C Williamson (Energas) 5h 49m 59.2s;
2, S Mertens & L Turpijn (C-Bear) +26-03.5;
3, H Booyens & I Stopforth (Pragma Volcan Ladies) +33-46.2;
4, S Van Heerden & J Church ( Aspin) +51-42.1;
5, A Harrison & M Lourens (Dawn Wing) +54-35.1.

1, Y Speedy & C Williamson 24h 50m 06.2s;
2, H Booyens & I Stopforth +1-40-31;
3, S Mertens & L Turpijn +2-39-22;
4, A Harrison & M Lourens +2-42-18;
5, K Kelly & E Greene ( +2-47-39.

Read more on:    cape epic  |  christoph sauser  |  cape town  |  cycling

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.