Porte wins Paris-Nice race

2013-03-10 18:38
Richie Porte (AFP)

Paris - Team Sky rider Richie Porte became the first Australian winner of Paris-Nice race on Sunday as he won the final stage 9.6km time-trial to hold off the challenge of American Andrew Talansky.

The 28-year-old began the day with a 32sec lead over Talansky in the prestigious race and came home in a time of 19min 16secs to wrap up the overall victory.

He increased his overall advantage 55secs with a rock solid showing in the time-trial that featured a rolling course suited to his talents and finishing with the only summit finish of the week-long race.

The Tasmania native, who only turned professional in 2010, picked up the biggest win of his career, although he had finished seventh in his debut season on the Giro d'Italia after holding the leader's pink jersey for three days and finishing the race at best young rider.

"To succeed such great names as (Tony) Martin and Bradley (Wiggins) is huge for me. I feel very honoured," he enthused after the race.

Frenchman Jean-Christophe Peraud snatched the final place on the overall podium by finishing fourth on the day to push American Tejay Van Garderen into fourth overall while compatriot Sylvain Chavanel had to settle for fifth.

Results from the seventh and final stage of Paris-Nice, a 9.6km individual time-trial on Sunday:


1. Richie Porte (AUS/SKY), 19min 16sec, 2. Andrew Talansky (USA/GRM) at 23sec, 3. Nairo Quintana (COL/MOV) 27, 4. Jean-Christophe Peraud (FRA/ALM) 32, 5. Tejay Van Garderen (USA/BMC) 52, 6. Simon Spilak (SLO/KAT) 55, 7. Diego Ulissi (ITA/LAM) 1min, 8. Michele Scarponi (ITA/LAM) 1:03, 9. Sylvain Chavanel (FRA/OPQ) 1:05, 10. Ion Izagirre (ESP/EUS) 1:06, 11. Andreas Kloden (GER/RSH) 1:16, 12. Arnold Jeannesson (FRA/FDJ) 1:17, 13. Jerome Coppel (FRA/COF) 1:17, 14. David Lopez (ESP/SKY) 1:18, 15. Stefan Denifl (AUT/IAM) 1:25, 16. Amael Moinard (FRA/BMC) 1:26, 17. Alberto Losada (ESP/KAT) 1:30, 18. Javier Moreno (ESP/MOV) 1:31, 19. Denis Menchov (RUS/KAT) 1:32, 20. Lieuwe Westra (NED/VAC) 1:35


1. Richie Porte (AUS/SKY) 29hr 59min 47sec, 2. Andrew Talansky (USA/GRM) at 55sec, 3. Jean-Christophe Peraud (FRA/ALM) 1:21, 4. Tejay Van Garderen (USA/BMC) 1:44, 5. Sylvain Chavanel (FRA/OPQ) 1:47, 6. Simon Spilak (SLO/KAT) 1:48, 7. Diego Ulissi (ITA/LAM) 1:54, 8. Lieuwe Westra (NED/VAC) 2:17, 9. Andreas Kloden (GER/RSH) 2:22, 10. Peter Velits (SVK/OPQ) 2:28

Read more on:    paris-nice race  |  richie porte  |  cycling

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.