Nibali secures Giro d'Italia

2013-05-26 17:36
Vincenzo Nibali (AFP Photo)
Brescia - Italian Vincenzo Nibali secured his maiden Giro d'Italia title on Sunday as Britain's Mark Cavendish took his fifth stage win on the 21st and final leg into Brescia.

Nibali, of the Astana team, finished the weather-hit 96th edition with a 4min 43sec lead on Colombian Rigoberto Uran of Team Sky with Australian Cadel Evans of BMC finishing third at 5:52.

It was Nibali's first victory on the three-week Italian race, in which he finished third in 2010 and runner-up in 2011. Last year, he finished third overall on the Tour de France, won by Britain's Bradley Wiggins.

Nibali succeeds Canadian Ryder Hesjedal as winner of the race's 'maglia rosa' (pink jersey) after the Garmin rider, followed by an ailing Wiggins, dropped out before the final week due to illness.

Nibali took possession of the pink jersey after the stage eight time trial won by Britain's Alex Dowsett and took a massive step towards overall victory with his victory in Friday's 18th stage, a 20.6 km uphill time trial.

It took his lead over Evans, who became Nibali's closest challenger, to over four minutes.

After the first of two consecutive days in the Dolomites mountains was cancelled on Friday due to snow and sub-zero temperatures at high altitude, Nibali capped his campaign with a second stage win of this year's race atop the Tre Cime di Lavaredo climb on Saturday.

Cavendish, meanwhile, finished a triumphant campaign in style by dominating a hectic sprint for the finish on a tight circuit to take his victory tally on the race to 15.

Cavendish, who also has 23 stage wins on the Tour de France and three from the Tour of Spain, also secured the race's red jersey for the points competition.

1. Mark Cavendish (Britain / Omega Pharma - Quick-Step) 5:30:09"
2. Sacha Modolo (Italy / Bardiani Valvole) ST
3. Elia Viviani (Italy / Cannondale)
4. Giacomo Nizzolo (Italy / RadioShack)
5. Luka Mezgec (Slovenia / Argos)
6. Roberto Ferrari (Italy / Lampre)
7. Kenny Dehaes (Belgium / Lotto)
8. Manuel Belletti (Italy / AG2R)
9. Giovanni Visconti (Italy / Movistar)
10. Luca Paolini (Italy / Katusha)

1. Vincenzo Nibali (Italy / Astana) 84:53:28"
2. Rigoberto Uran (Colombia / Team Sky) +4:43"
3. Cadel Evans (Australia / BMC Racing) +5:52"
4. Michele Scarponi (Italy / Lampre) +6:48"
5. Carlos Betancur (Colombia / AG2R) +7:28"
6. Przemyslaw Niemiec (Poland / Lampre) +7:43"
7. Rafal Majka (Poland / Saxo - Tinkoff) +8:09"
8. Benat Intxausti (Spain / Movistar) +10:26"
9. Mauro Santambrogio (Italy / Vini Fantini) +10:32"
10. Domenico Pozzovivo (Italy / AG2R) +10:59"


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.