Morkov wins Stage 6 of Vuelta

2013-08-29 19:02
Michael Morkov (AFP)
Caceres - Denmark's Michael Morkov has sprinted to victory in a remarkable sixth stage of the Tour of Spain on Thursday to deny double world time trial champion and long-time leader Tony Martin.

Martin had led from the third kilometre of the 175km ride from Guijelo to Caceres but was caught metres from the line as Morkov surged home ahead of Maximiliano Ariel Recheeze  Fabian Cancellara.

There was no change in the overall classification though as Vincenzo Nibali retained his 3sec lead over Chris Horner with Nicholas Roche a further five seconds back.

"I had never participated in a bunch sprint like this before so I just tried because I was the only one in the team who can sprint," a surprised Morkov told TVE.

"In the end I had a really good position, I got on the wheel of Cancellara and I knew I would have a last kick and in the end it was enough.

"It feels amazing, it's fantastic to race in this national Danish jersey and I just feel so proud and lucky to do so."

It was a heartbreaking finish for Martin, who had made a solo break from the off to build up an advantage of more than seven minutes at one stage.

The German looked set to be caught with 10km to go as his lead was whittled down to under 10 seconds, but he kicked again to briefly extend his advantage before being overwhelmed with the line in sight to finish seventh.

"I wanted to break away and I was hoping to go with a few other guys but nobody could follow so I just kept going," he said.

"It was really close and I think it was a great day for the fans and everyone who was watching."

Ariel Recheeze claimed his second placed finish in as many days, whilst Cancellara's search for a stage victory in this year's race continues as he was bunched out by Morkov on the dash for the line.

In the overall classification it was another steady day for Nibali as he stayed out of trouble in the peloton as all the major contenders registered the same time.

Leading results from the sixth stage of the Tour of Spain, a 175km ride from Guijelo to Caceres on Thursday:
1. Michael Morkov (DEN/SAX) 3h54min 15sec
2. Maximiliano Richeze (ARG/LAM) at 0:00.
3. Fabian Cancellara (SWI/RSH) 0:00.
4. Tyler Farrar (USA/GRM) 0:00.
5. Juan Antonio Flecha (ESP/VAC) 0:00.
6. Michael Matthews (AUS/ORI) 0:00.
7. Tony Martin (GER/OPQ) 0:00.
8. Gianni Meersman (BEL/OPQ) 0:00.
9. Philippe Gilbert (BEL/BMC) 0:00.
10. Graeme Brown (AUS/BKN) 0:00.
11. Adrien Petit (FRA/COF) 0:00.
12. Francesco Lasca (ITA/CJR) 0:00.
13. Edvald Boasson Hagen (NOR/SKY) 0:00.
14. Guillaume Boivin (CAN/CAN) 0:00.
15. Ramon Sinkeldam (NED/ARG) 0:00.
16. Daniel Schorn (AUT/APP) 0:00.
17. Geoffrey Soupe (FRA/FDJ) 0:00.
18. Greg Henderson (NZL/LTB) 0:00.
19. Luca Paolini (ITA/KAT) 0:00.
20. David Tanner (AUS/BKN) 0:00.

1. Vincenzo Nibali (ITA/AST) 22hr 38min 07sec
2. Chris Horner (USA/RSH) at 0:03s
3. Nicolas Roche (IRL/SAX) 0:08.
4. Haimar Zubeldia (ESP/RSH) 0:16.
5. Alejandro Valverde (ESP/MOV) 0:21.
6. Robert Kiserlovski (CRO/RSH) 0:26.
7. Rigoberto Uran (COL/SKY) 0:28.
8. Daniel Moreno (ESP/KAT) 0:31.
9. Rafal Majka (POL/SAX) 0:38
10. Roman Kreuziger (CZE/SAX) 0:42.
11. Bartosz Huzarski (POL/APP) 0:45.
12. Ivan Santaromita (ITA/BMC) 0:46.
13. Bauke Mollema (NED/BKN) 0:48.
14. Leopold Koenig (CZE/APP) 0:48.
15. Eros Capecchi (ITA/MOV) 0:52.
16. Joaquin Rodriguez (ESP/KAT) 0:53.
17. Chris Anker Sorensen (DEN/SAX) 0:55.
18. Yannick Eijssen (BEL/BMC) 0:59.
19. Diego Ulissi (ITA/LAM) at 1:10
20. Laurens Ten Dam (NED/BLK) at 1:12

Read more on:    vuelta a espana  |  cycling

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.