International Cycling

Yates bosses stage, Alaphilippe keeps lead

2017-03-10 21:47
Simon Yates (Gallo Images)

Fayence - Briton Simon Yates came home alone in Friday's sixth stage of the Paris-Nice with France's Julian Alaphilippe retaining the leader's yellow jersey.

Orica rider Yates crossed the line 17 seconds up on Colombian Sergio Henao who gained a dozen seconds on fourth-placed Alaphilippe.

Alaphilippe heads the general classification from his compatriot Tony Gallopin, over half a minute adrift, with Henao 46 seconds away in third.

Yates made a decisive move on the penultimate climb 20km from the finish of the near 200km ride between Aubagne and Fayence.

The 24-year-old brother of last year's Tour de France fourth Adam Yates moves up to eighth overall at 1:37.

"There's still a lot of time to take away from Julian Alaphilippe but he's such a phenomenal rider. He's one of the best riders of our generation," said Yates.

Alaphilippe lost time when unable to stay with Henao when the South American reeled in a breakaway from Australian Richie Porte.

"It was hard, I had cramp at the foot of the climb," the Frenchman revealed.

"He (Henao) is going to be a serious rival tomorrow."

Saturday's 177km seventh and penultimate stage concludes with a 15.7km climb up to the 1 678m col de la Couillole, the highest finish in the race's 75-year history.

"A rider like Henao can build up gaps on a long climb like that, but he's not the only one, I have out watch out for others too," observed Alaphilippe.

Results of the Paris-Nice sixth stage, a 193.5km ride from Aubagne to Fayence on Friday:

1. Simon Yates (GBR/Orica) 4hr 37min 51sec, 2. Sergio Henao (COL/SKY) at 17sec, 3. Richie Porte (AUS/BMC) 26, 4. Julian Alaphilippe (FRA/QST) 29, 5. Dan Martin (IRL/QST) 29, 6. Ion Izagirre (ESP/BAH) 32, 7. Jakob Fuglsang (DEN/AST) 32, 8. Alberto Contador (ESP/TRE) 32, 9. Ilnur Zakarin (RUS/KAT) 32, 10. Tony Gallopin (FRA/LOT) 32.


1. Julian Alaphilippe (FRA/QST) 21hr 58min 22sec, 2. Tony Gallopin (FRA/LOT) at 0:36, 3. Sergio Henao (COL/SKY) 0:46, 4. Gorka Izagirre (ESP/MOV) 0:57, 5. Daniel Martin (IRL/QST) 1:20, 6. Ilnur Zakarin (RUS/KAT) 1:31, 7. Alberto Contador (ESP/TRE) 1:34, 8. Simon Yates (GBR/ORI) 1:37, 9. Ion Izagirre (ESP/BAH) 2:04, 10. Warren Barguil (FRA/SUN) 3:08, 11. Philippe Gilbert (BEL/QST) 6:41, 12. Rudy Molard (FRA/FDJ) 7:25, 13. Romain Hardy (FRA/FVC) 9:59, 14. Bram Tankink (NED/LNL) 14:50, 15. Richie Porte (AUS/BMC) 15:54.

Read more on:    cycling


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.