International Cycling

Van Avermaet wins Tirreno-Adriatico

2016-03-15 17:52
Greg van Avermaet (Getty Images)

Rome - Belgian rider Greg Van Avermaet won the Tirreno-Adriatico cycling race after Tuesday's final stage -- a 10.1km time-trial at San Benedetto del Tronto which was dominated by Swiss Fabian Cancellara.

BMC Racing's Van Avermaet finished just one second ahead of Slovak Peter Sagan, riding for Tinkoff, in the overall standings.

Starting last in the leader's blue jersey, Van Avermaet lost time on Sagan early but following a gritty final kilometre he managed to save one second of his seven-second overnight lead.

Luxembourg's Bob Jungels, benefitted from the poor showing of Etixx team leader Zdenek Stybar to move up a place to overall third.

Trek-Segafredo rider Cancellara set himself up as a favourite for Saturday's Milan-San Remo along with Van Avermaet, Sagan and Stybar.

The Swiss crushed his rivals in the time-trial, clocking 11min 08sec, to finish 13sec ahead of France's Johan Le Bon of the FDJ team with Germany's Tony Martin (Etixx) third at 15sec.

The "Race of the Two Seas" was hampered this year by poor weather with Sunday's mountain stage scrapped because of the threat of snowfall.

Frustrated by the cancellation of the stage to Monte San Vicino, climbers Thibaut Pinot (FDJ) and Vincenzo Nibali (Astana) nevertheless finished fifth and sixth respectively overall.


1. Fabian Cancellara (SUI/TRE) 11min 08sec (average: 54.4 km/h), 2. Johan Le Bon (FRA/FDJ) at 0:13sec, 3. Tony Martin (GER/ETI) 0:15, 4. Alex Dowsett (ENG/MOV) 0:15, 5. Tom Leezer (NED/LNL) 0:16, 6. Maciej Bodnar (POL/TIN) 0:17, 7. Alexandre Geniez (FRA/FDJ) 0:18, 8. Edvald Boasson Hagen (NOR/DDT) 0:19, 9. Vasili Kiryienka (BLR/SKY) 0:20, 10. Damiano Caruso (ITA/BMC) 0:22

Overall standings

1. Greg Van Avermaet (BEL/BMC) 20hr 42min 22sec, 2. Peter Sagan (SVK/TIN) at 0:01sec, 3. Bob Jungels (LUX/ETI) 0:23, 4. Sbastien Reichenbach (SUI/FDJ) 0:24, 5. Thibaut Pinot (FRA/FDJ) 0:24, 6. Vincenzo Nibali (ITA/AST) 0:29, 7. Zdenek Stybar (CZE/ETI) 0:33, 8. Michal Kwiatkowski (POL/SKY) 0:39, 9. Bauke Mollema (NED/TRE) 0:45, 10. Roman Kreuziger (CZE/TIN) 0:48

Read more on:    cycling


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.