International Cycling

Valverde wins Fleche Wallonne

2017-04-20 10:11
Alejandro Valverde (Getty)

Huy - On-form Spanish veteran Alejandro Valverde notched up a record fifth win in the Fleche Wallonne on Wednesday, with Ireland's Dan Martin taking second at the summit finish on the Mur de Huy.

The Movistar rider, who turns 37 next week, has made the Ardennes classic his own since 2014, winning four straight editions a decade after claiming his first success in 2006.

Luxembourg's Bob Jungels launched an attack before the Cote de Cherave but was caught on the third and final ascent of the Mur de Huy, leaving the seasoned Valverde to again claim the honours. 

He saw off Martin by one second at the end of the 204.5 kilometre ride with Belgian rider Dylan Teuns completing the podium in third.

"The Ardennes classics are courses that I love. I feel a bit like I'm at home here," said Valverde.

"I'm in excellent physical condition, I had to take advantage of it. 

"The team worked right from the first kilometre, we had the belief we were going to win. It's a course that suits me very well, it's made to measure for me."

It was a remarkable 10th win of the season for the Spaniard, who vowed to return to Fleche Wallonne next year before throwing down the challenge to his rivals ahead of Sunday's Liege-Bastogne-Liege.

Valverde is a three-time winner (2006, 2008 and 2015) of the event billed as one of cycling's five "Monument" races.

For Martin, it was the second time in four years the Irishman was denied by Valverde and his third podium finish here.

"I came second again, it looks like I'll have to wait for Valverde to retire," Martin said after the race.

The Quick-Step rider was runner-up to the Spaniard in 2014 and came third a year ago.

Results from the 81st edition of the Fleche Wallonne from Binche to Huy on Wednesday:

1. Alejandro Valverde (ESP/Movistar) 5hr 15min 37sec, 2. Dan Martin (IRL/QST) at 1sec, 3. Dylan Teuns (BEL/BMC) same time, 4. Sergio Henao (COL/SKY) s.t., 5. Michael Albasini (SUI/ORI) s.t., 6. Warren Barguil (FRA/SUN) s.t., 7. Michal Kwiatkowski (POL/SKY) s.t., 8. Rudy Molard (FRA/FDJ) s.t., 9. David Gaudu (FRA/FDJ) s.t., 10. Diego Ulissi (ITA/UAE) s.t.

Read more on:    alejandro valverde  |  cycling

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.