International Cycling

Trentin wins fourth stage, Froome maintains Vuelta lead

2017-08-22 20:30
Matteo Trentin (Getty Images)

Tarragona - Italian sprinter Matteo Trentin claimed stage four of the Vuelta a Espana on Tuesday as Chris Froome maintained the overall lead.

Four-time Tour de France winner Froome, who is aiming to become just the third man in history to win the Tour and Vuelta in the same year, holds a two-second lead over David de la Cruz, Nicolas Roche and Tejay van Garderen.

Trentin edged out Spaniard Juanjo Lobato and Belgium's Tom van Asbroeck in a time of 4hrs 43mins 57secs for the 198.2km ride from Escaldes to Tarragona as the race entered Spain for the first time after opening stages in France and Andorra.

Security was tightened following a pair of terrorist attacks that killed 15 and left over 100 injured in Barcelona and the nearby seaside resort of Cambrils last week with the finish line just 20 kilometres along the Mediterranean coast from Cambrils.

After Froome took the race lead by finishing third as the general classification favourites fought it out in the Andorran mountains on Tuesday, Trentin took advantage of one of the few stages designed for sprinters to shine.

Victory completed an illustrous treble for The Quick-Step rider, who is now the 100th rider to win stages in all three Grand Tours.

"I will think about that in the future," said Trentin, who will join Orica-Scott next season.

"I am really proud to make this with Quick-Step team. I won in the Tour with them, in the Giro with them...and now in the Vuelta as well so I am really proud to make all these results."

Froome and the rest of the contenders enjoyed a trouble free day as the Sky rider rolled in 17th on the stage.

Wednesday's fifth stage takes the peloton 175.7km across five categorised climbs from Benicassim to Alcossebre.

Results from the fourth stage of the Vuelta a Espana on Tuesday, a 198.2km ride from Escaldes to Tarragona:

1. Matteo Trentin (ITA/QST) 4hrs 43mins 57secs, 2. Juan Jose Lobato (ESP/LNL) at same time, 3. Tom Van Asbroeck (BEL/CAN) s.t, 4. Edward Theuns (BEL/TRE) s.t., 5. Jens Debusschere (BEL/LOT) s.t., 6. Sacha Modolo (ITA/EAU) s.t., 7. Lorrenzo Manzin (FRA/FDJ) s.t., 8. Sren Andersen (DEN/SUN) s.t., 9. Youcef Reguigui (ALG/DDT) s.t., 10. Jetse Bol (NED/MZN) s.t.

Selected others:

17. Christopher Froome (GBR/SKY) s.t., 18. Fabio Aru (ITA/AST) s.t., 25. Romain Bardet (FRA/ALM) s.t., 26. Warren Barguil (FRA/SUN) s.t, 27. Vincenzo Nibali (ITA/BAH) s.t., 35. Alberto Contador (ESP/TRE) s.t., 39. Tejay Van Garderen (USA/BMC) s.t, 48. Adam Yates (GBR/ORI) s.t, 50. Simon Yates (GBR/ORI) s.t.

Overall standings

1. Christopher Froome (GBR/Sky) 13hrs 37mins 41secs, 2. David De la Cruz (ESP/QST) at 0:02, 3. Nicolas Roche (IRL/BMC) 0:02, 4. Tejay Van Garderen (USA/BMC) 0:02, 5. Vincenzo Nibali (ITA/BAH) 0:10, 6. Esteban Chaves (COL/ORI) 0:11, 7. Fabio Aru (ITA/AST) 0:38, 8. Adam Yates (GBR/ORI) 0:39, 9. Romain Bardet (FRA/ALM) 0:48, 10. Simon Yates (GBR/ORI) 0:48.

Selected others:

28. Alberto Contador (ESP/TRE) 3:10.

Read more on:    vuelta a espana  |  chris froome  |  cycling


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Besides the 'Big 3' of rugby, cricket and soccer, which of the 'smaller' sports in South Africa do you enjoy the most?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.